We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garnish House to your Saves list
Garnish House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Brandon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights in the second building, Welbourne house. The room was lovely, spacious and very clean and comfortable. Beautiful big windows that looked out on a lovely yard. We were greeted with a delicious tea of cakes and scones in a pretty little parlor. Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room and we did have to walk to the other building to eat. Its a short walk and well worth it as the food is excellent. Three courses for Breakfast and each more delicious than the last. Oatmeal with Bailey's was a taste treat. The only small downside was the young man who booked us in was not too knowledgeable about the buses and tourist things in the city. The owner was very helpful and did her best to help us out when we has questions. This is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    230
    69
    32
    11
See reviews for
204
347
50
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed for 1 night at the main building, and wish I could've spent more time here! We were welcomed with smiles, tea, cakes and scones upon arrival, which was lovely after a long drive. Our room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed (though it can be a little bit on the soft side), large shower with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was delicious and very plentiful, definitely one of the most memorable from my trip. (Do try the oatmeal with Baileys!) Downtown is about 10~15 minutes walk away.

However, if driving, do note to use Lancaster Quay as the address instead. The roads are mostly one way, and it can be quite confusing.

Room Tip: For rooms on higher levels, the stairs can be a challenge if you have large and heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experiences at Garnish House, and for choosing us as your accommodation while here in Cork.

Our welcoming afternoon tea is indeed intended to be the perfect antidote to a long drive on unfamiliar roads, and we are glad it started your stay with us off right.

Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast, which we will pass onto the chef and our staff.

Indeed, Garnish is located on a one-way system and 'Western Road' isn't a friend of GPS; we recommend that all guests using Sat-Nav enter the address '1 LANCASTER QUAY' and then keep driving past it that location, where they'll soon see Garnish House on the right.

Warmest regards,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay for 1 night in July as we were touring Ireland following Bruce Springsteen. So we knew accommodation would be at a premium & had paid higher prices all week without feeling aggrieved. But this was not our experience at Garnish House. We paid €160 for a tiny room (for 2) that you couldn't turn around in. The 'en-suite' was ridiculously small - literally space to stand up only - if you moved you banged the wall. Avoid room 6 - only a concertina door to separate room from micro-bathroom. And breakfast was extra (fleeced for another €20) - & inedible. We left our full Irish breakfast, unable to stomach the amount of congealed fat on the plate & hair in the food. A really poor experience which left me wishing I'd spent more time reading other reviews on this site which reveal that staying in the main house seems to be a different experience to staying in the other houses owned by this proprietor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We are most disappointed to read that you were disappointed with your stay in Garnish House. However as you can see from the vast majority of other reviews here on TripAdvisor, your experience was certainly not typical.

Our room sizes and accommodation are in keeping with the features of a traditional Irish B&B and we have a large variety of room types available. For example, if the standard double was not large enough for you, you could have opted to upgrade to one of our superior rooms with a king-sized bed, or one of our luxury rooms, which have a separate sitting area and a Jacuzzi bath.

Just like every hotel, guesthouse and B&B the world over, our rates fluctuate seasonally, and July is the very height of the summer peak. To get the best rates available at Garnish House, we would recommend booking with us directly and as far in advance as possible.

We were very surprised to read that you did not enjoy the famous Garnish breakfast -- our breakfast is lauded by guests and many return to stay with us just so they can enjoy for a second time our 30+ delicious choices all freshly prepared by our chef.

We also are pleased to offer both B&B and room-only rates; we apologize if this was not made clear on arrival or at time of booking.

Kindest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a lovely stay at Garnish House. We were welcomed with tea, cakes, a smile and a pleasant chat including lots of recommendations for things to do. Our room was very comfortable. Now, the breakfast, oh my! Courses upon courses of tasty treats are brought to your table, make sure you are hungry. The signature porridge with Baileys was delicious, even though i took some convincing to order it as I didn't think it would be. I was so wrong. There is a very extensive breakfast menu to choose from. We tried lots of different things over the two mornings we were there. Believe me, you won't need to eat again all day! Top notch. Garnish House is near the University, a short walk from the city centre. There is parking available. A great choice for accommodation in Cork.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival we where greeted with afternoon tea complete with scones, jam, cakes etc with a lovely welcome from the staff. The guesthouse...or B&B is in a good location and if you a looking for a great meal without having to go right into the main street then Serendipity restaurant down the rd is stellar....but now back to Garnish House. We had a triple room that was facing the rd and it was a little noisy from the traffic. As it was warm we needed to keep a window open to sleep but it made things a little too noisy although shutting window only blocked out the worst sound. That really was the only negative of the place and is more about geography really. Breakfast comes with a three page menu and is presented like fine dining, it's all a bit good! Would recommend Garnish House at just a 10-15 minute easy walk from the city centre it means you are slightly out of the worst of the hustle and bustle.TV reception was poor but then again...who stays in to watch TV while on holidays? Overall a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Ireland over the August bank holiday and at the last minute we had to change from staying in Killarney to Cork. Because it was so last minute, the Garnish was too full to accommodate my family of 10 but they had a separate property down the street that we were able to use. We had the house all to ourselves, which included a kitchen and living room. We all had our own rooms and bathrooms and the house was perfect! We did have to walk back to the Garnish for our breakfast but it was, hands down, the best breakfast I've ever had. I strongly recommend the porridge with Bailey's and the ham omelet. They also scheduled taxi's for us to get our bags to and from St. Jude and the Garnish when we left and were more than helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Best breakfast ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The welcome at Garnish House is top class - the pot of tea and scones / brown bread was so welcome after a long drive, not to mention the friendly and helpful members of staff who were on duty when I arrived. The room was fine and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is elaborate - lots of different options and courses. I went for a low-key breakfast, porridge and toast (the porridge was gorgeous), but I think the fixed charge (€10) for breakfast is steep and a €5 charge for people who want a lighter breakfast would be something to consider.
The location of Garnish House is perfect for visiting UCC, and the staff very helpfully allowed me to leave my car in the guesthouse car park for a few hours during the following day while I was at the university.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garnish House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy welcoming afternoon tea and a famously gourmet breakfast in Cork City center's premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE is an AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork city centre. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 7-bedroom townhouse), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.