We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Garnish House to your Saves list
Garnish House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went away for new year with 11 of us in our group. The accommodation was fantastic. All of us apart from one (who was just next door) had free roam of a house where we had our own rooms and bathrooms and a kitchen, front room and dining room downstairs. Which meant we had so much space to chill out and felt like we were at home. We had an Irish spread put on for us on our first day with tea/coffee scones/pastries and fresh cream which was lovely and totally unexpected. I would definately stay here again. It was cleaned every day and just a short walk into town.perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about Garnish House.

It was our pleasure to host you and your travel party recently and we are delighted to hear that our accommodation made you and your companions feel at home -- that is exactly the experience we endeavour to create for all our guests.

We offer all our guests a welcoming afternoon tea service which we think is the perfect end to what for some may have been a long journey to Cork, and a great beginning to a relaxing stay here at Garnish.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back to Garnish House some day.

Until then,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    245
    70
    32
    11
See reviews for
208
367
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Garnish House is actually made up of three different buildings, so you're not sure which one you might be in. We were in the green building across the street in a twin on the back side of the house. It was very quiet and comfortable. The decor is not contemporary, but the room was fine and clean. The water pressure is low, so plan accordingly. Mrs. Lucy is probably the nicest host you'll ever meet and is almost disappointed if she can't help you with something else during your stay. We were served an enormous tea service upon arrival (definitely say "yes" if asked if you want tea) and the breakfast was actually too big. After porridge and a full Irish breakfast they offered pancakes/crepes! Oh my. There is a small off-street parking lot and it is a short 10 minute walk to the center of town/English Market. It's in a row of B&Bs near the University and has a yellow sign (some people thought it was hard to find, but not really). For whatever it's worth, there are a lot of Americans who stay here because of friends/family attending the University.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Garnish House while you were here in Cork and for taking the time to share such kind words about us on TripAdvisor.

Garnish House is indeed made up of three buildings all only steps away from each other here on Western Road, but this is what enables us to offer our guests a wide variety of room types -- everything from double rooms to apartment suites -- and so meet their needs exactly no matter what size their travel party.

We are sorry to hear you experienced low water pressure in your room and will have our maintenance staff look into what they can do to improve it for the future, but are glad that you had time to enjoy our welcoming afternoon tea experience and our legendary (if filling!) breakfast menu.

Thank you again for choosing Garnish House.

Best wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had an awesome experience at the Garnish House on our very 1st trip to Ireland. They treated us so much better than any hotel I have stayed anywhere! We were offered a pot of tea and fresh pastries while we waited for our room to be ready (at 11am). The breakfasts were to die for! You must have the porridge with the Bailey's! And the porridge is only the starter for breakfast. They have 2 pages of menu offerings -- each one very delicious. The proprietor apologized on our last day, saying she "wished she could have done more for us". I wanted to take her home so she could take of us all the time. I can't wait for my next trip to Ireland so that I can stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the very top which was only a problem when we had to drag our luggage up or down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and fabulous review of Garnish House! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Our porridge served with Bailey's is one of our (many!) specialities and a popular choice with all our guests. We're delighted you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back to Garnish House on your next visit to Cork.

Until then,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glocester, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Garnish House after staying at three other B&B's throughout our tour of Ireland. It was the nicest of four. The proprietor and her staff give much attention to detail and pleasing their patrons. The breakfast was delicious, a huge variety, nothing spared. Our room was clean and cozy. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Garnish House and for taking the time to review your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay -- and your breakfast!

Best wishes
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found this b&b on hotels.com. When we arrived we were welcomed with tea/coffee and pastries. Outstanding. Our room was very clean and fresh. We stayed overnight on NYE. Lovely town. We will come back.

Room Tip: I use tripadvisor when looking for rooms and to see how close to town it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Cork on New Year's Eve and had time to experience our welcoming afternoon tea service before your New Year's celebrations began.

Everyone hear at Garnish House thanks you for staying with us and looks forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cork.

Best wishes and thanks,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at Garnish House after getting a great deal on Orbitz. When we arrived, we received the afternoon tea, which was quite good. I asked about recommendations and how far we were from some things listed on the website and Joanna looked puzzled and couldn't really give any. We were told our room was "a step away" and that it was ready. We were surprised when we were taken down the street (more than just a step away) to a different building. The room was decent and had plenty of room for the two of us and two suitcases. While drying my hands, I noticed that there was a long hair on the towel. I thought thought nothing of it and placed the towel on the floor as I didn't want to use a towel with someone else's hair on it. The next day after my shower, I took a towel off of the rack and a large clump of hair fell from the towel. I found several more hairs in our other towels during my two day stay. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed it until the last day when we checked out. When we checked out, I was told we owed €40. I explained that we had prepaid on Orbitz and there shouldn't be any additional charges. I was told that the charge was for breakfast and Joanna told me that "we got a very good rate and sometimes breakfast is extra." I told her that she had a B&B and that breakfast is included in the rate, otherwise we were at a hotel, not a B&B. I was forced to pay so that I could leave and continue on with my journey and hope that Orbitz refunds my money. I felt as though she thought we got a rate that was too low and tacked on the extra for breakfast. At no point did she say or was it posted that breakfast is €10/pp/pd. if you stay here, know that the breakfast and afternoon tea are good, but that you might get charged extra, stay down the road from the main house, and dry off with a stranger's body hair.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of Garnish House. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review your stay with other travellers and we are happy that you enjoyed your welcoming afternoon tea, your accommodations here at Garnish and our legendary breakfast.

As we explained on the morning of your departure, we like to offer our guests the flexibility to book either room only rates or accommodation with breakfast included. When you booked on Orbitz, you selected a room only rate; that is the information Orbitz supplied to us. As it often happens that guests who book room only rates regret their decision once they see our extensive breakfast menu, we offer the option to add breakfast for €10 per person in such cases. We appreciate that you enjoyed it and your compliments have been passed to our chef.

We acknowledge the issue you raised with the towels in your room for which we can only profusely apologise. Your experience is not typical of our guests and the issue has been raised with our housekeeping department who will endeavour to ensure it does not happen again.

We thank you for staying with Garnish House over the festive period and hope that you enjoyed your time in Ireland.

Best wishes,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The lady who's in charge was really nice. A HUGE set of pastries and tea/coffee was waiting for me when I arrived. Rooms were cozy, quiet and clean. And the cook-to-order breakfast was out of this world. The location is great if you're doing seminars or other academic stuff at UCC. Wifi signal strength could be improved but was acceptable.

Room Tip: A private room is always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Garnish House and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our welcoming afternoon tea and our famous breakfast.

We constantly endeavour to meet and exceed guest expectations and we note your comment about the wifi signal strength. We will work to ensure that it is stronger in time for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garnish House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.