We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Key

The Silver Key
Churchyard Lane | Ballinlough, Cork, Ireland
021 429 56 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 457 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cork
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped for lunch during the week and was impressed at the quality food on offer. Unlike most bars at lunch, this one allows you to sit down and order through their helpful wait staff rather than queuing up with a tray. Had a delicious Lasagne and chips for €10.95 which was great value. Big choice on the menu too, will be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We eat in the restaurant here very often. We have never had a bad meal there in all the times we've been. Service is excellent and the menu is extensive. Price is also very reasonable. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
republic
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great food, Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Went here recently for birthday party.

Fantastic range of starters but as I was last, I missed my chance and went straight for main course - lamb shank. Well, I have never had a shank like it! It was cooked perfectly and accompanied by the 'just right' amount of veg The bread and butter puddings afterwards was superb .A brillian meal and I'll certainly be back for more.

Talking to everyone else afterwards, no one was disappointed and all enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a recent dinner here on a Friday night with 5 others and the consensus was that it was most satisfying. Service was excellent, attentive without being obtrusive and the food was first class. Had a seafood chowder to begin with which was rich in flavour without being too salty and had an abundance of salmon, hake, mussels and veg. Twice as good as another sampled recently in a 5 star hotel. My main course of plaice was excellent and one companion and I agreed it was one of the best we ever tasted. Others with warm chicken salad and steak were equally impressed. Even though the restaurant was quite full, conversation was easy as the high ceiling helps dissipate noisy chatter. Worth the money and worth another visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Attended a 60th birthday party, with quite a lot of people attending, at this restaurant and whilst it had to be a set menu for such a big party we did get a couple of choices. We took up practically all of the upstairs and the staff did a wonderful job of seating us all almost altogether. The food was superb and everyone in the party had only great things to say about it. The staff were very good and the service was excellent and very quick. The place did very well to cope with such a noisy lot. Great job!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Key also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Silver Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.