We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful but very tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Istanbul

The Istanbul
75 Oliver Plunkett, Cork, Ireland
0214274075
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 493 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: "Fari is the Store Manager - Fresh food , very clean, make flat bread fresh in store, friendly and smiley people".
cork
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful but very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As a fast food place they quality of the food is excellent and it is my guilty pleasure. Would recommend a visit for a quick bite. It's definitely not fine dining.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel, Ireland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We eat here whenever we are in Cork & it is great. Last time we asked for extra chilli sauce with our kebabs and the server grilled some hot red chillies for us to give our kebabs an extra kick as well as extra sauce. He then sat down to eat himself & asked if we liked bulgar wheat (with various spices and a salad) we said we never tried it so he gave us some to try, we loved it and encouraged him to put it on the menu (and as meat eaters we don't say that often) so as we left he told the server serving inside the counter to give us a take-away (free of charge) of the bulgar wheat which was delicious later that night. Great food and great staff what more could you want.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“best kebabs in Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Have been visiting Istanbul for the last 4 years and always enjoyed. It might seems a bit overpriced but quality of the food is always great. Their sauces are extremely delicious, vegetables and meat fresh and thoroughly cooked. Will recommend to anyone who is looking for cheap meal at late night :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moate, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's just so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It's just tasty, fresh food...I'm veggie and I get chip & salad with sauce on a naan bread. it's great value. Not just for after the night club either, plenty of seating and very friendly staff!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice food . But needs a good cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I like the food here, specially the doner kebab nicely spiced and you get a nice portion. However the seating area is not very clean ,as the table is sticky. The toilet needs attention. While there i couldnt help noticing the person making the doner bread was also serving customers and handling money without washing hands or wearing gloves. Not very hygienic

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Istanbul also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.