We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who would have thought” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butter Museum

Butter Museum
Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 83 Attractions in Cork
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Who would have thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A butter Museum, was pleasantly surprised with the museum, very nice chap on the reception desk, could not have been more helpful, together with being enthusiastic on displaying and discussion the museum and history. It was interesting and enlightening, would definitely recommend

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An Interesting Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was an interesting place. I was disappointed though that in order to make butter, you have to make a reservation. So perhaps that is valuable information for those interested in going to this museum. Call ahead to reserve a spot to make real Corkonian Butter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“was expecting so much more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although this museum really does take you through the history of butter in Ireland, there are only a few artifacts and a couple of videos here. We were expecting a lot more (live demos, samples, anything), so you could say were were disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for those who think 'A butter museum? I must see this for myself!' as I did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have wanted to go to cork for years and as my congratulations present for my GCSE results, I got tickets for a long weekend in cork! When I started googling places to visit, I came across this museum on Google maps and made it a personal mission to find it. As we only had one full day, we spent it in cork, then the Sunday we travelled back in limerick. so we decided that with such little time, we should go on the bus tours of cork, of which there are two and we pulled up and parked for 5 minutes and when I looked up, there it was, a tiny little place in a village called Shandon. All there was, was St Annes church, The Firkin Crane (yes, we laughed, too) and some coffee shops. The museum itself has 2 floors of the history of butter making, locations it was made, where it was shipped to, how it was made, different labels-any information and statistics about butter was there. it was a lot more interesting than I thought it would be considering my motivation was to prove that such a museum exists, and this jolly old man runs it. it is definitely worth a visit, but keep your eye out!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While visiting on our honeymoon we visited this site on the recommendation at our B&B. The gentleman at reception let us in for free as a congratulations on our wedding. He then gave us some history on butter in the area and offered to take a few photos for us. He really made the experience special. As for the museum itself, it is tucked in off a Main Street. It offers a lot of artifacts relevant to the era and butter making. Plenty of photos to view and a couple videos to watch. Learned a lot about the history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Butter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butter Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.