We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Save Saved
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in Cork
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was my first visit to Cork and I was very nervous and hoping that we'd booked somewhere reasonable. I think the price was very well for the city in such a fantastic location. I was impressed with the nice hotel staff and all I can say is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!! :) I had such a good time - and I'm very glad that we chose this hotel. Its located on the river just across from the shops and some nice pubs. The little alleyway waterfall was really nice to wake up to in the morning :)
And THE BEDS! AHHH! So great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    166
    91
    36
    21
See reviews for
50
158
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Booked a 3bed apartment for x6 of us to visit Cork for New Year. Couldn't believe the website offer price and was dubious as to the condition of the hotel. However, the apartment was fantastic - it's not 5* luxury, but it was spotless and had absolutely everything you could want from a self catering apartment. A little bit shabby, but I've stayed in worse hotels.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms cleaned every day and you just can't beat the location - about a 5min walk into the city centre. Didn't have any problems with noise considering it's the busiest time of the year. There is an award winning restaurant downstairs, which some of my friends tried and said was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

expected rooms to be dated as foyer is in need of make over but was pleasantly suprised as rooms where very modern and lovely.very good location without being in the centre of town with all the noise.would recommend this hotel and would stay again as lovely little bars close by.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kerry
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed in a 3 bed apartment attached to the Hotel Isaacs recently on a 2 night shopping trip to Cork 3 adults & 3 teenagers.There were also 1 and 2 bed apts. Great location for the shops. Fantastic value for money and much more economical than staying in a hotel. Worked out only about €35 per person for 2 nights! Everything we could need in the apartments to include tea, coffee & sugar which we didn't expect and had bought. Check in was 2 O'Clock, receptionist was nice and helpful. On check out a different receptionist, a french girl judging by the accent and not abit pleasant, didn't even ask how our stay was, just took the money and was saying goodbye before I even had my purse closed! so abit of social skills wouldn't go amiss. I was the only one checking out so a bit of chit chat would have been nice. Apts very clean and plenty of room, a huge room with a double & single bed, a double room and a twin room. Plenty towels provided which was great and they were even changed on our 2nd day. My only complaint would be the bathroom, it was like ice! There was a heater above the door but no string to activate it. You could access the apartment through the hotel or by a laneway at the side of the hotel. Plenty of take away places to cater for every taste on the same street as the hotel which was very handy for self catering if you didn't want to cook after a day's shopping - chinese, fish & chips, pizza etc. All in all I would definately stay in the apartments again and would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Room was dirty and noisy. The hallways smelled like a horse stable. No free WiFi. Staff was not very friendly. Beds were very uncomfortable.
Definitely would NOT stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

we stayed here for three nights at the end of October and found it to be a very well located and serviceable hotel. The room was large and quiet, the staff friendly and the overall experience was a good one.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I would like to point out that this is a 2 star at best or more like a hostel than hotel. I stayed here recently and was disgusted with the room, it was dark and old and also had stains and hairs on the linen that may I add were not mine, when I complained I was told first there is no housekeeping here now !, then it was attempted to swap the stained linen and then I was informed nope sorry no spare ones tonight, bed was left with an old army looking blanket which was covered in long black hairs. Breakfast room is old and dank and there is a limited range of cereals, cornflakes, crispies and Bran, no low fat milk etc, staff were nice enough however I would never recommend this place to anyone bar a backpacker, the carpets are worn and stained throughout and the lift is about 30 years old and is more like a cupboard than anything else, oh and there is no free wi-fi you have to pay and its not cheap and also the car park is 5 minutes away up a steep hill and then you find it is in a church car park not secured at all, this is not manned so you then have to drive back to the hotel to drop back the key that lets you out, Faulty Towers anyone ! and the car park is 5 euros per day to top it off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.