We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and amazing food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very clean and amazing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had an apartment and a room. Upon arrival the receptionist seemed understaffed on a busy evening which obviously wasn't her fault but wasn't a great first impression. The apartment and room were a good size, the housekeeper did a great job cleaning and was very friendly when I ran in to her going back for something. Both the room and the apartment were a bit drab and could do with an upgrade. In saying that the beds were comfortable and I slept well, my room was facing the street on a fri/sat night but I didn't experience any noise issues. The bathroom was very clean and always had hot water. The kitchen in the apartment was dead handy. The restaurant is brilliant absolutely great food at breakfast and dinner. Lovely american(i think! So sorry if that's incorrect!)breakfast waitress and so was the cork lady in the evening as well. The lady on reception at check out was very friendly but they had more staff on at that time. I wasn't amazed overall but it had all the important stuff like comfortable beds, hot water and great food!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    196
    102
    42
    24
See reviews for
61
192
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from 9 glorious days in Ireland! Cork was one of our final nights and all of our accommodations had been more then we expected.
When we arrived at Hotel Isaacs at almost 4pm I was informed that our room wasn't ready yet (check in is at 2pm). I had requested a quiet room since it was a travel tip I had read here on tripadvisor and I'm a very light sleeper. The receptionist didn't really acknowledge the request seeing as we were put in apartment 4... A second story 2 bedroom apartment right on top of MacCurtain St (the main road running through town) it was as if every car and drunk person passing by was in our apartment!! So loud!
Furthermore the apartment itself does not justify the €175/night price tag. It's run down, dingy, we had no hot water (not even for one shower) and the "master" bedroom had 2 twin beds pushed together to make a double! Not the most ideal sleeping arrangements for a couple on holiday. If traveling to Cork don't let the fancy waterfall in front of the hotel trick you into booking a room here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your feedback on your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments. We greatly appreciate such feedback as often it is only through guest feedback such as yours that we can attempt to maintain and improve the standards which we set.

Please accept our sincere apologies to you for the obvious disappointment caused to you primarily as a result of the accommodation provided to you. Whilst we had received your request for a quiet room, we actually allocated the first available apartment to you as the others had not been serviced (owing to the later check outs on the occasion of the Bank Holiday). We should of course have requested of you, if you would mind waiting a little longer.

I do fully accept that the Apartment in question would not be ideal for a light sleeper. With regard to its presentation, we are planning on carrying out some further refurbishments to our Apartments in the coming months and this particular apartment will be included. As part of such refurbishment we will endeavour to include at least 1 Double Bed in all of our Apartments.

We are very sorry to learn that you were unable to have a shower and had we known we may have been able to make alternative arrangements. We will of course carry out a full check on the system to ensure that we can identify any particular problem with the hot water.

I do hope this experience did not spoil your entire visit to Cork and that it will not deter you from considering Isaacs Hotel & Apartments in the future.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies to you for the obvious disappointment caused and indeed our thanks to you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Sincerely
Regina Forrest
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel in itself is in an excellent location and from the outside it looks beautiful with the cobbled street and Waterfall in the courtyard but that's where the enchantment ends.

The staff are friendly and helpful, although this was variable dependent on the time of day and member of staff.

There were several problems with the room, whilst it was large and spacious the decor was old and dated. The paint was chipped and there was mould in the bathroom on the tiles and the blind over the window. There was a chip in the bath and the glass shower door over the bath didn't fit properly so water leaked all over the floor whenever we showered. The carpet was stained and had marks in places.

The bed was as hard as rock and I ended up waking with a bad back several days, and I would not expect to be sleeping under an itchy brown blanket and stained eiderdown for the amount of money they charge for a room at full price. Our room looked out onto the alleyway and as such was incredibly noisy at times. We were awoken at 5 am twice in our 4 day stay due to banging, crashing and someone wheeling something over the cobblestones.

Breakfast is overpriced when you consider that the hotel is so close to the city centre that there are plenty of other options available which are of the same quality but much cheaper.

All in all were it not for the excellent location of the hotel I would give it a terrible rating. It is just a short walk to the bus and train station and the City centre itself but it is certainly not worth paying what they expect for a full priced room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your feedback on your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments. We greatly appreciate such feedback as often it is only through guest feedback such as yours that we can attempt to maintain and improve the standards which we set.

Please accept our sincere apologies to you for the obvious disappointment caused to you primarily as a result of the presentation of your guestroom. Whilst we have carried out significant refurbishments to many rooms, with more on the way, there is simply no excuse for many of the issues you have raised regarding your bedroom. I assure you that we will give this matter and indeed the matter regarding the outside noise our full attention in an effort to prevent a similar reoccurrence.

With regard to our Breakfast, I am sorry to hear that you regard it as ‘overpriced’ as we feel that €8 is good value for a freshly cooked full Irish Breakfast.

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future and giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves!

Once again please accept our sincere apologies to you for the obvious disappointment caused and indeed our thanks to you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

Regina Forrest
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed in room 203 with the noisy pipes at 6am. Good location, friendly staff, nice reception area, good value nightly rate, quiet location. Room 203 could do with some TLC - mould in bathroom, scuffed paintwork, damaged plasterwork around electric socket, ripped quilt cover.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your feedback on your recent stay at Isaacs Hotel & Apartments. We greatly appreciate such feedback as often it is only through guest feedback such as yours that we can attempt to maintain and improve the standards which we set.

Firstly, I wish to thank you for your kind comments regarding our location, staff and value – it is much appreciated.

Please accept our sincere apologies to you for the obvious disappointment caused to you primarily as a result of the presentation of your guestroom. We have plans to continue our recent refurbishment works and can assure you that this particular Room will be prioritised. In the meantime, I can also assure you that the obvious work has already been dealt with.
We do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Isaacs Hotel & Apartments.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies to you for any disappointment caused and indeed our thanks to you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

Regina Forrest
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is great. We did have a problem with are booking but the staff fixed it very quickly and we got an upgrade and a free drink for the inconvenience. We had an apartment and it was amazing. Very comfortable with everything we needed. It's in a great location and the staff are so friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear dee w,

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed the apartment. We would be delighted to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Cork.

Kind regards
Regina Forrest
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed 5 days with my two sisters, in two separate rooms. Each was quite comfortable, and very clean. The location is perfect. So close to city center and transportation, and on a rainy night, many choices for food and drink right across the street! The staff was amazing from the second we walked in. They went above and beyond to make our stay fun and relaxing. The breakfast is well worth it to get a freshly made hot Irish breakfast or several other hot choices. The outside waterfall is beautiful, even in February! We were on the first floor, facing the courtyard, so it was quite at this time of year. And the best meal we had in Cork was at Green's, a must do!

Room Tip: In the winter the courtyard rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hudson1111

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that the three of you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cork, and it would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again sometime in the future.

Regina Forrest
(the wake-up call/taxi time advisor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

stayed here for 3 nights and would definately go back again...location was great for city centre and the staff are the most friendliest and helpful i have ever come accross...the choice of breakfasts was so good it was hard to choose..room was large and very comfortable

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Front Office Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Susan B

Thank you very much for your review. We are especially pleased to hear your comments about our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Cork.

Regina Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.