We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to city, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Close to city, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in room 101, a large room with en-suite shower room, TV, iron and hair-dryer and safe all included. Large glass wall/window in room to corridor - unusual and mainly not seen as curtains had to be drawn for privacy, but not a huge problem. Room can be coldish in the early afternoon, and like a sauna overnight. Took awhile to work out the right setting.
Room 101 is right next to the lift and over the receptionist area, so can be noisy - take earplugs. Breakfast is not included, can get this at Greenes next to the hotel but I would suggest that breakfast at Gallaghers at the end of MacCurtain street is much better value.
Staff are excellent, helpful and hotel is clean and well appointed - would stay here again - but would ask for a different room. Great location for a weekend in Cork, and very good value if you book on-line.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Iliad33
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and apologies for the noise. You can also book directly with us to get a great deal, and to accommodate any requests. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    176
    98
    41
    22
See reviews for
56
171
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the apartments next to the hotel. They are one of the few apartments available on various days so you're not tied into a week Saturday to Saturday. They were reasonably priced, with daily cleaning services, in the heart of the city. The only downside was there was no lift and we had to carry our double buggy up to the second floor. We had a fabulous time and will be staying there again on our next visit to Cork.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Deirdre R,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the apartments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We landed in Cork on a Sunday night for a work gig on Monday, and decided we had to treat ourselves. Isaacs didn't let us down, two ribeyes with trimmings filled the hole. The grilled portobello mushrooms were better than the steak. Maurice had his medium rare, but I went with medium which I reckon was better for the cut. Place was quiet, but, hey, its Cork on a Sunday

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends for a night out in Cork city. We could not fault the hotel for price, location, staff, food and good service. We Had two twin rooms and one was located facing the street but it didn't interfere with us at all. The other room was fairly newly decorated with a lovely new bathroom. Our dinner in Greenes restaurant was lovely and they also offer 10% off full bill for guests staying in the hotel. Parking was very nearby but be aware that you must take an immediate turn right for the church after you turn off from Maccurtain street!!! It's a one way street and a long way back around if you miss the turn off!!! Looking forward to staying again soon..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear DiCork2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands,uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked hotel after checking reviews, was not disappointed. Arrived at hotel 11am check in was not till 2pm, was expecting to leave luggage and go back later however helpful girl on reception said she thought our room was ready, after a quick phone call to check she said yes room was ready & gave us key. Room like the rest of hotel was excellent, clean comfortable and nicely furnished.Hotel was in a great location, staff were friendly and helpful, great experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent a night in Cork, and the Isaacs proved to be a good choice. Only minutes walk away from the centre. Car park available, and good, free internet connection (wifi). The hotel was a former tobacco warehouse (very near the quayside) and is set in a very interesting spot next to a waterfall. Friendly staff, and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here on a last-minute trip to Cork as it was the only hotel in town within my budget! I got lucky. Small friendly hotel, slap bang in the middle of town, great shower(a rarity), really comfy bed(even more of a rarity. There was a lot of street noise but I think if you're staying in the city centre there always will be.
This wasn't helped by the fact that i stayed there on 2 of the hottest days of the year but they can hardly be blamed for that! Every member of staff I encounterd was friendly and helpful and basically the whole stay turned a good trip into a great one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.