We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
west midlands,uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked hotel after checking reviews, was not disappointed. Arrived at hotel 11am check in was not till 2pm, was expecting to leave luggage and go back later however helpful girl on reception said she thought our room was ready, after a quick phone call to check she said yes room was ready & gave us key. Room like the rest of hotel was excellent, clean comfortable and nicely furnished.Hotel was in a great location, staff were friendly and helpful, great experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    202
    104
    42
    25
See reviews for
61
197
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent a night in Cork, and the Isaacs proved to be a good choice. Only minutes walk away from the centre. Car park available, and good, free internet connection (wifi). The hotel was a former tobacco warehouse (very near the quayside) and is set in a very interesting spot next to a waterfall. Friendly staff, and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here on a last-minute trip to Cork as it was the only hotel in town within my budget! I got lucky. Small friendly hotel, slap bang in the middle of town, great shower(a rarity), really comfy bed(even more of a rarity. There was a lot of street noise but I think if you're staying in the city centre there always will be.
This wasn't helped by the fact that i stayed there on 2 of the hottest days of the year but they can hardly be blamed for that! Every member of staff I encounterd was friendly and helpful and basically the whole stay turned a good trip into a great one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

- Amazing old building, with a nice waterfall on the rocks inside the hotel gate.
- Great location, just by the city center and just across the street from the Tourist Office
- the staff couldn’t be more helpful and nice.
- the room was great and despite having just booked a twin bedroom. When we arrived they gave us a very large room with one twin bed and two single ones. The room had a wall made from glass bricks . it’s very well equipped.
- It was an amazing stay apart from the bathroom that was a little bit old fashion and with like of maintenance.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Do not go to this hotel ever, it's my worst hotel experience in my life time. This hotel is disgusting inconsiderate. First thing first is they gave us a room that's flooded in the bathroom with MOLD and spider web.

Bed sheets were not changed from previous guest.
-There were black and brown smudge marks on all four pillows.
-Mold covered a large part of the ceiling.
-room smelled like there's an mold infestation.

The only thing that looked clean were the towels, but after seeing the condition of the room and bed sheets, I was afraid to use the towels.

The sad part is that we tried to talk to the front desk but they would not pick up the phone, and when they did the person was very rude. This place is a dump and please for your own sake DO NOT come to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for four days in September. We had a double room, 215, which was a handicapped accessible room facing the street. It was huge with two story ceilings, a large bathroom and huge closets. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. I saw comments that the TVs were too small which I disagree with, but in so large a room, one could want for a larger screen if one were picky.
My daughter had a separate single room (103) which was small but clean and had a good bed and good shower (no tub).
Front desk staff were extremely helpful with local directions and recommendations. Breakfast was good and the wait staff were very friendly and pleasant. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did enjoy the bar for some after dinner drinks on several nights. They quickly got to know our drinks.
Parking in Cork is a nightmare but the hotel has a lot about a block and a half away. To open the gate one has to have a "clicker" obtainable from the front desk which you then need to return right away. To get the car out you have to redo the process of requesting the clicker, getting your car, then driving back to the hotel to drop it off. It's not as easy as typical US hotels, but it really wasn't that big a deal AND if you've tried to park anywhere else in Cork, you realize how good you've got it.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, if I was in Cork.

Room Tip: The Cork Airport was built on a hill that is prone to heavy fog. If you have a tight schedule to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and were delighted with the hotel.

Isaacs Hotel is very central and you can walk to all of the major sights and places to visit in Cork City. The downside to being central is that car parking is a two-minute walk away in a gated and locked local churchyard - not a problem for us.

The staff all over the hotel were warm, enthusiastic and welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped.

Greene's restaurant was excellent for both dinner and a hearty cooked breakfast the following morning. Lots of other lovely touches all around the hotel but the charm of the staff was definitely one of the high points.

This hotel is a three star venue, pretends nothing more but surpasses its rating on most counts. Accordingly I would rate this hotel as the best value accommodation in Cork City. We shall definitely use it as our Cork base in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.