We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here on a last-minute trip to Cork as it was the only hotel in town within my budget! I got lucky. Small friendly hotel, slap bang in the middle of town, great shower(a rarity), really comfy bed(even more of a rarity. There was a lot of street noise but I think if you're staying in the city centre there always will be.
This wasn't helped by the fact that i stayed there on 2 of the hottest days of the year but they can hardly be blamed for that! Every member of staff I encounterd was friendly and helpful and basically the whole stay turned a good trip into a great one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    197
    102
    42
    24
See reviews for
61
192
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

- Amazing old building, with a nice waterfall on the rocks inside the hotel gate.
- Great location, just by the city center and just across the street from the Tourist Office
- the staff couldn’t be more helpful and nice.
- the room was great and despite having just booked a twin bedroom. When we arrived they gave us a very large room with one twin bed and two single ones. The room had a wall made from glass bricks . it’s very well equipped.
- It was an amazing stay apart from the bathroom that was a little bit old fashion and with like of maintenance.
I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Do not go to this hotel ever, it's my worst hotel experience in my life time. This hotel is disgusting inconsiderate. First thing first is they gave us a room that's flooded in the bathroom with MOLD and spider web.

Bed sheets were not changed from previous guest.
-There were black and brown smudge marks on all four pillows.
-Mold covered a large part of the ceiling.
-room smelled like there's an mold infestation.

The only thing that looked clean were the towels, but after seeing the condition of the room and bed sheets, I was afraid to use the towels.

The sad part is that we tried to talk to the front desk but they would not pick up the phone, and when they did the person was very rude. This place is a dump and please for your own sake DO NOT come to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for four days in September. We had a double room, 215, which was a handicapped accessible room facing the street. It was huge with two story ceilings, a large bathroom and huge closets. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. I saw comments that the TVs were too small which I disagree with, but in so large a room, one could want for a larger screen if one were picky.
My daughter had a separate single room (103) which was small but clean and had a good bed and good shower (no tub).
Front desk staff were extremely helpful with local directions and recommendations. Breakfast was good and the wait staff were very friendly and pleasant. We did not have dinner in the hotel but we did enjoy the bar for some after dinner drinks on several nights. They quickly got to know our drinks.
Parking in Cork is a nightmare but the hotel has a lot about a block and a half away. To open the gate one has to have a "clicker" obtainable from the front desk which you then need to return right away. To get the car out you have to redo the process of requesting the clicker, getting your car, then driving back to the hotel to drop it off. It's not as easy as typical US hotels, but it really wasn't that big a deal AND if you've tried to park anywhere else in Cork, you realize how good you've got it.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again, if I was in Cork.

Room Tip: The Cork Airport was built on a hill that is prone to heavy fog. If you have a tight schedule to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and were delighted with the hotel.

Isaacs Hotel is very central and you can walk to all of the major sights and places to visit in Cork City. The downside to being central is that car parking is a two-minute walk away in a gated and locked local churchyard - not a problem for us.

The staff all over the hotel were warm, enthusiastic and welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped.

Greene's restaurant was excellent for both dinner and a hearty cooked breakfast the following morning. Lots of other lovely touches all around the hotel but the charm of the staff was definitely one of the high points.

This hotel is a three star venue, pretends nothing more but surpasses its rating on most counts. Accordingly I would rate this hotel as the best value accommodation in Cork City. We shall definitely use it as our Cork base in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we have stayed in Cork previously and really like the compact size of the city. We chose this hotel as we noticed the waterfall last time we were over. the hotel is ideally placed for sampling the bars on McCurtain Street, walking into town for shopping or sampling the pubs on Oliver Plunkett Street or its a really easy walk to the train station where you can head further afield. We caught the train to Cobh which was really pretty. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel but we did eat in Greenes one evening which was delicious. All in all i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are not expecting luxury and just want a well-located, value conscious hotel, this is a good choice. The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable. The staff is friendly and the small courtyard in front of the hotel is charming. Cooked breakfast (not included) is good; the continental buffet is a little sparse. The restaurant for lunch outside was nice; dinner was a bit disappointing. You get what you pay for - and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.