We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. Chose it because we were travelling by train & it was convenient to the station & close to the city centre. It was a real find ! Quaint exterior & layout downstairs, good bedrooms upstairs with very mod bathroom. Ate dinner in Greene's rest attached
to the hotel,excellent food . Sadly it was not so good for breakfast, asked for brown toast , which was warmed through & partially toasted on one side only. Excellent girl on reception. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    190
    102
    42
    24
See reviews for
61
184
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Wife and I, and my parents, decided to have 4 nights in Cork this year as a short family holiday. We arrived earlier than check in on the Monday but this was no problem and we were shown straight to our apartment (number 7). First impressions were that it was a bit tired in the decor but it's just a place to sleep so we weren't that bothered and headed out to explore the City Centre. It's about a 5 minute walk to the main streets of Cork, just over the bridge on St Patrick's Street, and what a lovely place it is. The architecture is really nice and there's a good mix of independent and chain retailers smattered about between the pubs and bars.

The first problem we had was when we got back and there was no hot water. One of the girls came up from reception and after a play with the boiler that was back on track. We all showered and headed out for a bit to eat. We decided to head back early as it had been a really early start and when we got back we discovered that the toilet cistern wasn't refilling. We were able to McGiver the shower head into the cistern but that wasn't good enough so I went down to complain and we were immediately offered the only spare apartment (number 2) which we took.

This apartment is better decorated and although the bedrooms were a bit smaller we preferred it to the earlier one. The kitchen didn't have a dishwasher but the cleaners took care of any dirty dishes while we were out each day.

A quick conversation with one of the waiters at the hotel, James, and we were pointed in the direction of the best pint of Beamish in Cork County at the Sin-e pub just down the road. We weren't disappointed and Hilary behind the bar was an absolute gem.

There were problems with hot water for the rest of the stay but this wasn't major and the 4 of us managed to shower as long as we had a bit of time in between each visit to the bathroom. We didn't see any lifts in the apartments which could be an issue for some, we were only on the first floor with both apartments so it was OK for us.

We did avail ourselves of the hotel's parking facilities which, at 5 Euro per day, are the cheapest we found in the area. They're a short walk to a gated area around a local church. Having a car is great as we were able to get out to Kellarney, Cobh, Blarney and Fota Wildlife Park which are all excellent places to visit.

All in all I'd recommend the hotel, we had our rate discounted for the problems we encountered and although it's a bit tired it's not messy, plus the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is quaint - staff was helpful and friendly - rooms were well sized - lift slower than words can describe - food excellent - parking available but not convenient - loading/unloading from the street dangerous - - Cork is just a challenge with parking and street traffic

Room Tip: higher floors quieter - street noise can be heard if windows are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were 4 friends and stayed in a 3 room apartment with a nice little kitchen. Nothing special but clean and we were pleased. Lovely waterfall near the entrance and a nice restaurant.
The price was good and it was a close walk to Cork walkingstreets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed just one night in this hotel. It's convenient for the Everyman Theatre across the street and the city centre is a short walk away.

The rooms are okay. A bit tired looking and quite dull. Frustratingly unreliable wifi.

The breakfast however was excellent although the waitress was sour and grumpy.

Simply average.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is grand nothing special but few things do annoy me the restaurant is stuck in middle of hotel but is not part of hotel the girl on reception is cranky and the parking that you need to bring the fob back is annoying, rooms small tv doesn't have all channels ...but location is good for cork prices can vary week to week dramatically as I've stayed here with different groups and as a single all in all it's alright no late bar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Cork staying at the Hotel Isaacs, a hotel that we have visited previously some years ago.
We arrived at 10.45am to be told that our rooms would not be ready until 2.00pm, the guy on reception said he would advise the cleaners that we were early and ask if they could arrange for the rooms to be ready earlier than 2.00pm.We left our luggage and went for a walk around and had lunch.
We returned at 2.00pm only to be told that our rooms would not be available for another 30 minutes, when I complained the manager got involved and found us alternative rooms which were fine.Surely it doesn't take nearly four hours to clean a bedroom.
We decided to have breakfast in the hotel which is extra to the room price, the waitress who was on duty at breakfast was miserable to say the least not just with our party but with everyone, the breakfast was served in the dining room of Greenes Restaurant which has a good reputation, the breakfast food was obviously not cooked by the chef from Greenes, the poached eggs were over cooked as were the fried eggs and one of the party had an omelette which was burned, the bacon was cooked on one side but not the other and the toast was colourless, all in all the worst breakfasts we have had in a long time.
The other staff that we had contact with were very helpful and obliging.
When people are flying into a city airport they cannot control when they arrive at the hotel if the hotel took this fact into consideration when taking the booking they could manage their cleaning staff to suit.
The hotel would have warranted a higher rating if we had stayed room only.

Room Tip: Don't choose 101 smokers stand underneath the window talking well into the night (3.30am) Room1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.