We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Cork
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here 3 nights starting on May 18. We found the place to be a great stayed.
Room/Restroom - Both were nice and big. The restroom had a shower and a nice tub. Both looked very clean.
Location- Perfect it is just a 10 min steady walk from/to the train station, which is on the same street so it is easy to get to it. We came on the train so coming out from the train station we took the left side and in about 10 min we were at the hotel. The bus station, where you catch the bus to Blarney is less than 10 minutes by the river. Also the citylink, Aircoach and other tour buses stops are behind the Gresham Metropole hotel which Hotel Isaacs is in front of the Gresham. We took the citylink bus to Galway so we didn't need to walk a lot so the location is great if you need to take bus instead of train.
WI-FI - You get a voucher but you need to register online, I didn't want to register, so I can't say how good the Wi-fi signal is at the hotel.
Breakfast - We had only a room rate, but you can have breakfast at the Green's restaurant downstaris. Continental was about 7.95 Euro and for an Irish Breakfast and two other options was about 9.95 Euro. Across the hotel there is a cafe place that has a lot of variety for breakfast and maybe a bit cheaper, We tried it once and it was fine.
Overall, we had a good experience, no noise and we had good night sleeps. If we ever go back to Cork, we would definetly stay here.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear JChernan562,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Isaacs on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be very central. We hope to welcome you back to Cork and Hotel Isaacs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    142
    73
    34
    18
See reviews for
38
133
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs serious updates.
If they start with changing the curtains and carpet, they will be at least 70% there.
The color of the Capet reminds me of a very old sweater you see in a Salvation Army store that you know it will continue to be there for the next decade at least.
The curtain is absolutely atrocious to the point that it is almost depressing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear LittleBeeRubin,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry you didn't like the colour of our carpets or curtains in the bedrooms. We have started a bathroom refurbishment this year which is nearly completed and will take your comments on curtains and carpets on board. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My sisters had stayed at the Isaacs several years ago and found it clean and convenient. We returned this year and had a clean and well-amenitied two bedroom unit, one of which faced the noisy street which initially made sleep a little challenging. Wish I had thought of earplugs, but exhaustion from the cross-Atlantic trip made up for that in a hurry. The staff was super accommodating, the food in the restaurant delicious, the room rate reasonable, and I don't think you could beat the location for convenience. It was just as easy to walk to the quays and shopping/nightlife as it was to drive out of the city from the nearby parking. An observation, not a criticism, is that their website gives directions to the hotel that are more consistent with someone who may be more familiar with the area. If you don't have a GPS, you may be well advised to do a Mapquest or similar search BEFORE you go!

Room Tip: If you are porting heavy suitcases, get a first or second floor room. Consider ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment on GPS coordinates which we will indeed update as soon as possible.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for one night in July, last minute booking. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and sleep quality was good. The outside area with the waterfall is ideal for sitting down sinking a few pints before heading out on the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIsaacsGreenes, Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Ger F,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Isaacs. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Isaacs and Greenes in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a Dublin escape to Cork and visited Isaacs Hotel for the first time. What a lovely surprise! Stunning waterfall feature made us feel we had stepped out of reality into a Jurassic Park film set! Such a memorable relaxing setting for one of the best Cappuchinos we've ever had. The Dining experience was wonderful too - three absolutely delicious well presented courses in a friendly, rustic ambient candlelit surrounding. We went for a short walk into the centre afterwards to burn off some of those calories! Spacious bedrooms with a comfortable bed. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone! There's even self catering for those independant guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork
Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list