We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“April 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here with a large group and had an excellent stay. Our spacious room faced the one way street which was busy and noisy late at night but a pair of ear plugs sorted that! Shower was effective and room was clean. The high point of our stay was the staff who were welcoming and highly professional. The young lady who was in charge of the restaurant was excellent, as were all the waiting staff. We had tasty meals which were excellent value for money. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    176
    98
    41
    22
See reviews for
56
171
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently with a group. Rooms are big, clean and modern enough. Nice bathroom and shower. We did feel that is was quite noisy outside our room, but others in our group didn’t experience that in their rooms. Really nice courtyard outside the hotel and staff helpful. There is no parking in the hotel, but close enough to carparks as well as city centre. Good value for money

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room at the end of the corridor as its not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed here for many years every month for nearly ten years, very helpful staff and easy to find, park and enjoy Cork, The three bedroom suites are good quality except the alley way , overall over the years we as a family have used this hotel some 100 times.

Recommend on all levels of qualtiy and service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

my husband and I booked on a room only basis through trivago.ie and were delighted to get a really big sunny room,it was super clean with a lovely big modern shower,we didn't have brekkie so cant comment on that,however we have eaten in both Greene's and Isaacs restaurants which are both fab so I'd expect the breakfast to be good too.We would defo stay here again,a lovely spot to sit and have a glass of wine beneath the waterfall at the side of the hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of Cork City. Parking a bit far away from the hotel.
very good food and this is a hotel with great character. On the minus side, hairdryer not working and kettle stuck to drawer and we had to pull out a press to get at the socket as it was turned off from that point, so facilities in room poor.

Very well cooked breakfast, no sign of the dreaded grease.

I would stay in Isaacs again but would ensure the kettle and hairdryer are working before I need them the following morning.

Rebelcitygirl

Room Tip: Check your kettle and hairdryer first thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent Hotel, few minutes walk to city centre and all amenities, bus station, all shops and restaurants a very clean city. Excellent staff especially Marie & Regina on reception couldn't do enough for us friendly but professional, the bar staff are excellent too.
We stayed from 6th March to 9th March 2013 we where 2 couples. The rooms are large very clean and have all amenities including free use of room safe, the beds and bedding are of good quality and very comfortable, the water fall is a lovely feature and can be seen from the dining room .
We found the lunch and evening meal rather expensive and not a good choice, we love fish but 6 choices a bit to many.
Reception securely stored our luggage all day until it was time to leave for the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but it is a main road location so some noise expected at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed two nights last weekend, it was just about ok with the exception of the following,
a) No dedicated extract system to the bathroom, not up to UK Building Regs
b) Toast offerred for breakfast was basic supermarket budget range bread.
c) Came back to the room to find door wide open, with no one around. Work was being carried out to the WC Cistern, we had not been warned or asked if ok. Do not take kindly to our possessions being put on show for every passing tom dick or harry to see.

Probably will choose somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Hotel is very gloomy could do with better lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.