We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isaacs Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isaacs Cork to your Saves list
Hotel Isaacs Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. I think it has disimproved since a visit last year. Windows in room were grubby and to park the car you had to park, go in and collect the key, drive around to the church carpark then return key. You have to go through the same rigmarole when you want to drive your car back out. There must be a better system in this day and age. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    216
    112
    42
    27
See reviews for
67
208
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over weekend. Best of all its only a 5 min walk from main train station (Kent) and across the bridge from the main bus terminal (both are 5 min walk between each other). Receptionist very nice as most Irish are. Room 108 was big with double and a single bed which I was not expecting. The rooms looks a but dated now but it has lots of character. They really should replace those big tv's with some LCD flat screens which would make a big difference.
My room was facing the side of the hotel so I did not hear any noise from outside. There is a hotel opposite as well as a theatre and a nice pub - very friendly staff.

I didn't bother with having breakfast as I prefer to go to a cafe and its cheaper too. The hotel should just include the breakfast with the price as most hotels in Europe do this.

The hotel is just across the bridge where all the main bars are. I didn't hang around the city centre much as I was in Cobh for both days (recommended!). Cork City is just like a mini Dublin with a river running through both cities - in fact I could not tell the difference, both have lots of pubs and main shopping centres.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for its proximity to everything and the price is very reasonable for what you get.

Tip from airport - Take the local Bus outside the airport exit - only 8 euro return and it drops you off at either the main train station or bus terminal both are only a 5 min walk to the hotel. A taxi costs approx 15 euro to the city centre.

Room Tip: Room on the side of hotel - room 108 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here Dec 2011 for an anniversary treat, the hotel was a bit disappointing, great location but the rooms had a few problems. The biggest problem for us was there was hardly any heating in rooms and in December we found it very cold! we complained to front desk as our radiator not working. We went out for dinner and was told it would be fixed on our return. We we entered room the curtains, which had been covering the radiators had been piled onto the windowsills and the radiator was barely warm! so they had put a mobile radiator in the room, positioned right next to the bed, we found this very unsatisfactory not to mention a health hazard! they didn't have another room to move us to, so we had to put up with it. I forgot to mention that I had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival asking for a nice room as it was our anniversary and we were promised a room overlooking the waterfall, this never materialised either!
We ate in the hotels restaurant on the first night and we were taken to a table right next to a radiator, not sure if it was coincidence, as I had complained about the heating? but the meal was good anyway. The second night we managed to eat in the Isaacs restaurant next door which is not actually part of the hotel, so you have to book there separately, try to book early as always busy. the food there was very good and cheaper than the hotel restaurant, so I would recommend you try there first.
Overall we had a good trip, if the heating had'nt been an issue we would have given the hotel a higher mark, but felt this spoilt our stay somewhat.
If I was going back to Cork I would probably book another hotel.

Room Tip: If staying in winter make sure the radiators are working!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned from a family trip to Cork staying in an apartment and hotel room in the Hotel Isaacs. Whilst booking i was in correspondence with the receptionist Jeremy and he was very helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure my requests were met. The hotel and surroundings are nice and the waterfall is a novel feature. The hotel room we had was spacious and full of character. The apartment we rented was spacious but shabby and the noise from the traffic and nightclub across the road is unbelievably loud at night, When i mentioned this at checkout i was met with a shrug (not from Jeremy but another receptionist). I think they would benefit from investing in some double glazing! We dined at Greenes Restaurant the first night and although the food was good, the staff were extremely unfriendly and unwelcoming. From the website it is not clear that there is a horel restaurant also (as the front, Greenes is at the side) and this was a much better dining experience,. All in all it was a nice break but not sure i would recommend to anyone who wanted to get a nights sleep (although maybe Easter Saturday night was particularly raucous)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for mine and a friends stag weekend. The hotel has traditional rooms or apartments. Our apartment had two doubles, two bathrooms and a lounge all for 200 quid for two nights. It's not fancy but if you're looking for somewhere clean, with decent service and a decent restaurant then look no further. The location of the Isaacs is also great, decent pubs nearby and only a ten minute walk into the centre of Cork.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Oodles of charcater, excellent value and wonderful staff...I love this hotel. It's reasonably price; sure some of the rooms have seen better days, but with the cost of the room and location I will never complain. They were very helpful to our group.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

stayed at the hotel isaacs in cork for 3 nights.was a bit wary as some of the older reviews were a bit offputting.however the hotel was fine, and the breakfast was first class had the full irish breakfast and it was great, also tried the omlette which was nice too. could not fault the food and also found the staff very friendly and helpful.the rooms we had were clean, the only problem being the heating didn,t come on and the room was too cold before you went to sleep but the heating seemed to be on during the night and it was unbearably hot, all in all was fine, to sum it up foodwise great, hotel clean enough, the waterfall beautiful to look out on from the dining area, but would have to say the hotel rooms were a bit jaded, but most certainly not the worst!!! go accross the road to dan lowrys food really goood and not too expensive

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
The Metropole Hotel
#16 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#10 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isaacs Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isaacs Cork

Address: 48 MacCurtain St., Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isaacs Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Isaacs Cork, a unique gem of a hotel in Cork city centre with an enviable city centre location - only a short walk from the train and bus stations and the main shopping and financial centre of Cork.Hotel Isaacs is the perfect choice as a base when visiting Cork city, West Cork and the South West of Ireland.We have some fantastic special offers for you when you book our hotel bedrooms and our wonderful two bedroom and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Isaacs Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Cork
Isaacs Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isaacs Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.