We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday morning stroll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University College Cork (UCC)

University College Cork (UCC)
University College Cork | Western road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)
021-490-1876
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 Attractions in Cork
Type: Educational Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: University College Cork is one of Ireland’s most prestigious universities. It boasts a vibrant, modern campus with a student experience second to none in Ireland. A learning community where the student is at the heart of everything and the special relationship between student and lecturer is primary to our unique ethos. The campus is located a mere ten minutes walk from the heart of Cork city, a former European Capital of Culture. Cork is listed as a top ten location in the Lonely Planet guide which states it “has always had an unshakeable self-confidence and innate sense of pride”, a description which is equally applicable to the University itself
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sunday morning stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012


Stayed at Garnish House and decided to take a stroll through the grounds of UCC. Even though the buildings were closed, it's a very pleasant place to take a walk, and has the feel of a proper University. The buildings are of varying styles - some of the new ones are architecturally very attractive. The Honan chapel is well worth going into - we were there for Mass at 12 with lovely singing - but it's open most of the time I think.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    84
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Where Finbarre taught.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a former student, former lecturer and current student I admit I am biased......... That said, even I was taken aback when I was recently taken on a tour of the library in UCC. It has a wonderful collection which is very valuable. The main quad is a beautiful building with a lovely lawn. UCC has expanded so much in recent years that it is not possible to write about it all in a short review. Lewis Glucksman Gallery is worth a visit in its own right.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stones and art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

UCU is definitely worth an afternoon of browsing. The main buildings have a lovely display of ohm stones and the art gallery in the grounds always has interesting things on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Don't miss the main gate and the river. The original building is beautiful. A great place to walk through.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stroll - especially on Sunday's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wandered over through the main gate on Western Road, over a lovely small river and into the beautiful grounds. We were free to enter the buildings, including the Hall in the Quad. There was a fascinating display of inscribed stones with early Celtic writing and alphabet.

On leaving the Uni we picked up on one of the Cork City walks, along the River Lee back to the city centre.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University College Cork (UCC) also viewed

 

Been to University College Cork (UCC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University College Cork (UCC), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.