We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Art Gallery with the best of Irish Artists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crawford Municipal Art Gallery

Crawford Municipal Art Gallery
Emmet Pl., Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 480 5042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 81 attractions in Cork
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This renowned art gallery displays works by both prominent Irish artists and local painters.
Cork
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Art Gallery with the best of Irish Artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Crawford is a fantastic Gallery with some of our best Artists in Ireland. From Daniel Maclise to Jack Yeats. Some of Louis Le Brocquy's most beautiful paintings of Irish Writers. It has a fascinating section on The Penrose family with some great portraits. I love the seascapes from Mounsey Atkinson ans Corks most famous Artist Daniel Maclise. The Gallery is free of charge and is a must see for all tourists and locals. The staff are very helpful also.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Coffee shop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Gallery was beautiful with an interesting range of paintings..We called in for coffee but it was lunch menu only...Nice gallery..dreadful coffee shop..poor service..food ok bit expensive. Decor is drab and depressing..def not somewhere I would recommend..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Important city gallery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an unusual gallery - part old-fashoned museum, part contemporary art gallery. It has some interesting pieces of modern art in its permanent collection, as well as a decent range of more historical Irish art, inlcuding some very good stained glass pieces by Harry Clarke whch are probably worth a visit by themselves.
The temporary exhibits can be more hit and miss - a photography exhibition last summer was very good, but the present one was not so interesting for me. It's a lovely building though, including a cafe and bookshop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“an eyeful .......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Sharman Crawford Municipal Art Gallery was our destination on a recent outing. We were fortunate in having a guide put at our disposal who knew art and knew the gallery and above all knew the history of art in Cork. She gave us a great appreciation of all the artists of note who began their studies here and went on to be very famous. I must confess that I had no notion of how many great artists had come out of this former school or art and now gallery. I will be returning there for further study of the various forms of art produced in Cork.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit in November”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Poor visit in the shop. Staff more interested in talking to themselves and the security guard than dealing with me. Was going to buy a Harry Clarke print except I put it back and walked out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crawford Municipal Art Gallery also viewed

Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Crawford Municipal Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawford Municipal Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crawford Municipal Art Gallery to your Saves list