We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Redclyffe Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Redclyffe Guest House to your Saves list
Redclyffe Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Co.Clare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I stayed in the Redclyffe for 2 nights as I was working in the city for 2 days.It was the cheapest B&B I could find-I paid 80e for a single room with breakfast both morn.I did appreciate the free parking which is in front of the B&B and I cannot fault the area-its safe and not noisy yet still central enough to walk into town.The couple who run it are lovely as well-very genuine and obliging people.There was a good choice for breakfast-you could have the cooked option and there was a selection of cereals, fresh fruit,soda bread and yogurts.My room and ensuite were spotless too.

I felt that for the price however the place overall was not up to standard.Its generally quite an old fashioned and slightly run down house.The walls of my room were paper thin-I could hear the people in the next room talking and I thought the people in the room above me were going to come crashing through the ceiling-I could literally hear every footstep.I would imagine that if the place were busier or if there had been people coming in late (I was staying midweek) then the noise would carry very easily and it would be quite difficult to sleep.Also, the website advertises 16 channels yet I only had the standard 4 and the shower never got completely hot just warm.Now I know I sound like I'am completely nit picking and if the place was cheaper I would be singing its praises but I just felt kindof hard done by considering the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    20
    15
    17
See reviews for
21
29
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Redclyffe B&B is a great place and bargain for the money. If you are looking for a 5 star Regency, this is not it. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay, with a good breakfast, this is the place. The owners, Mick and Maura, were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, warm and very nice. This house was most likely built to house Cork Univ. Profs. many years ago, and shows signs of character. Everything was serviceable and met our needs beautifully. It is across the street from Cork Univ. and a brief walk to the City Centre. My wife and I will stay there again, and will recommend this to our friends. Best wishes to Mick and Maura. Thanks for an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

I had a wonderful stay in Redclyffe - I stayed for 2 nights during September and although this was during the busy tourist season, the staff went out of their way to make my stay an enjoyable one. Within walking distance of the city and still outside it - a really enjoyable experience and would thoroughly recommend it to anybody looking to stay in Cork city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I stayed at the Redclyffe for 3 nights in April. I couldn't have been more pleased.
The place was immaculate, the bed was cozy comfy.
The owners were lovely, caring ,helpful, and jolly.
The shower was delicious.
Breakfasts were home-cooked to order.
The location was near the University about a ten minute walk from the center of Cork.
I read some iffy reviews beforehand, I don't understand what they were about.
I loved the place, the Sheehans and Ireland.
As I said before. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedersachsen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed one night at Redclyffe and enjoyed my stay very much. I had a very warm and friendly welcome and a nice room. I had very nice talks with the owners and would love to come back! The next time I go to Cork I will stay at Redclyffe again!
Best wishes and have a nice stay, Stephan

(The B&B is placed directly on the opposite of UCC. Just a few steps and you are on campus.)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Redclyffe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redclyffe Guest House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redclyffe Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Redclyffe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redclyffe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.