We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House Hostel

Save Saved
You added Kinlay House Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinlay House Hostel
Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty lodging in Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't like.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I didn't like my experience in this hostel. There's only one member of the staff that was nice, the others simply seems to dislike their jobs. The location is not so good, the breakfast is weak, some part of the seems abandoned. It could be a nice hostel, but is not. They seem not interested.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    38
    20
    24
See reviews for
3
29
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed in some dodgy places before and very much have the attitude that it's part of te adventure.

However this was something else.

Photos are very misleading from the website. We were down for a gig in The Marquee and spent most of the time trying to get somewhere else. Again not like me, I would've just sucked it up but this place was really bad.

No towels in the room (even though it states on the website private rooms get towels). Suffice to say no showers this morning, not what you want when you're travelling for 8hours.

When I asked the guy at reception he was ridiculously ignorant and told me no towels, but we have a sink in the bathroom so that should be enough (?!?!)

To top it off the door doesn't lock from the inside. Luckily my partner was with me but severe oversight on security.

This place tries to appeal to people of all backgrounds but unless you're a student or party person who's not actually gonna be in the hostel...it's bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's a nice simple hostel. We booked a double private room which is around the corner from the hostel. Basic double room with tv no wardrobe and not refursbished. But we only paied 55 euros for two people, 10min from the centre. Breakfast time finished at 9h30 which i found early for a saturday morning so we skipped it, as check out time was 10.30. Overall good location and cheap, but I wouldn't choose it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently stayed in Kinlay House, in Cork and we loved it. First, the hostel is really well located. It’s a quiet spot in the historic neighbourhood of Shandon, 7 minute walk to the city center. It’s close enough to everything but still, away from the noise at night.

The staff was really nice and helpful. Their knowledge of the city was really accurate and they advised us well on where to go for a good session, a creamy pint, or even just a nice local spot to hang out.

Our room was nice and clean, with a view on the street and the park. The common area upstairs was big and cosy. The kitchen was clean and equipped. The breakfast was quite small (tea and toast) but at least it was included. Plus, since it’s Ireland, you should really go for a full-Irish breakfast anyway.

The place felt very safe. Someone was at the reception all the time. It was a bit annoying to leave our key at the reception and ask for it every time we came back, but on the other hand we knew that only guests were aloud in.

We’re planning on going back to Cork soon and Kinlay House is definitely where we’ll be staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeshandra, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The folk in Kinlay House were very helpful. They facilitated our group who were doing the "Cycle against Suicide" in April 2013. They couldn't do enough to make sure that our stay well like clockwork. I was silly enough to leave my wife's "Yoga Mat" in our of the rooms at the Hostel and they went to every effort to make sure it has been returned to me. Keep up the great welcome and thanks so much for making that extra effort to ensure that we had a great stay at your Hostel. Tom Taaffe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here a few months back with a group and was well taken care of. The receptionists pointed out a couple of places to eat and have a drink that I would never have found otherwise, an d gave a good price!
This time me and my missus booked a double ensuite, which worked out about €20 less than the B&B's we were checking. Too our surprise our room was in one of the houses adjoining the hostel which was a B&B more so than hostel. Nice bright room and Moroccon type art in the halls and stairs. Pics to follow!!

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, gym or leisure centre in the Maldron Hotel next door, just ask at hoste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here in April, rooms were excellent, well maintained and very clean. Staff were very helpful even to the point of posting keys to my home address that I had left behind. Will definitely go back as great value for money and so central to shops and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms are all well located within the building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
The River Lee Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Hostel, Indepen...
Show More
Montenotte
Aaran House Tourist Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lodge, Hostel...
Show More
Mardyke
Cork International Hostel
Kitchenette, Lo...
Show More
Centre
Hostel Cork City
Hostel Cork City
#4 of 14 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Lodge, Hostel...
Show More
Sheilas
Sheilas
#6 of 14 in Cork
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Address: Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.