We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House Hostel

Save Saved
You added Kinlay House Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinlay House Hostel
Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty lodging in Cork
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at Kinlay house for a few days and a had a great time. The hostel was in a great location, clean, staff were very friendly and helpful withl lots of ideas of places to go out and things to do in and around cork. I met some great people while staying at this hostel which was not hard to do as they have a large kitchen and a large cozy common room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    38
    18
    24
See reviews for
3
28
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My first experience of a hostel in Ireland. After looking at all the online information about it I thought it would be a bit more fun than it turned out to be. The 'craic' I was led to expect wasn't there. The attitude of people staying in hostels these days seems to be to talk to as few people as possible. Kinlay house was like this too. The private room I stayed in had the ambience of, well, a prison cell, with industrial grade light fittings and a double bunk bed. The complimentary breakfast turned out to be just toast. If there was cereal, I couldn't find it. Nor could I find the way to the kitchen in the first place, after following all the signs from my room to the dining room, I found that the door that allowed one into the dining room was permanenty shut and/or locked. So back through the maze of buildings to find another way to the kitchen. Expecting to find lots of young folk chatting away and having a good time, instead I found people eating in silence, maybe using their mobile devices. No craic here. For the price I paid for a private room, I would have got better value from a B&B, which is what I went and did for the rest of my stay in Cork, and throughout south west Ireland. Next time I'm in Cork, I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed one night on a tour of 6 days. The bunk beds were broken, sagging and missing springs. Some toilets had no seats or toilet paper. Located in a rougher part of town. Power went out and staff werent helpful of informative. Half our group changed out after seeing the condition of the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

it's a really nice hostel, i stayed there some days. when i arrived in the next hostel i saw that i forgot my shorts! i love this shorts so i called them and i wrote an email. the next day they wrote my shorts are in the post on the way to belgium, my home! i was so happy :) :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hostel was ok. The corridor smelt really bad like dirty socks haha. The cleanliness of the room was not that great it was very dusty. The shared bathroom on the ground floor needs attention. The toilets are blocked and don't flush properly. The worst thing is that during the weekend about 10-15 local teenagers (i could tell by the accent) stand out the front drinking alcohol and socializing out the front of the hostel. This happened on all nights of my three night stay. I came back to the hostel at midnight and was harassed out the front by some of the boys. I could then hear them talking from my bedroom. They seem rough and not friendly and I would suggest that management gets onto this. I was supposed to stay four nights but left early. The hostel is in a good location and the common room is nice and big. The hostel doesn't really have a very happening vibe I found it a bit boring and I'm a solo traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Kinlay House has a really great location, it is close to the center of the city but far enough away that it is quiet. The location definitely gets the property some credit. The front desk staff were friendly and willing to help with directions.

The room was decently clean however the bathrooms definitely needed attention. The hand dryer didn't work and there was NO HOT WATER! The comforter seemed really old and should definitely be replaced. It seemed like there was something hard and crunchy inside the comforter which made it very unpleasant so sleep under.

Breakfast is very simple, toast, tea and coffee but for the price that you pay, it definitely does the trick.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a large hostel with friendly staff just a few minutes walk from the centre of Cork. The fact that it is away from the city centre means it is quieter and therefore easier to sleep, especially at weekends, than at some of the more centrally located hostels. For my room the price was reasonable and the room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. The room and bathroom were more spacious than the average hostel in my experience. The staff have on the whole been friendly and helpful and security for my luggage was not a problem. Breakfast is tea, coffee, toast and jam which all disappears promptly at 930am but given that it is free and some hostels provide no breakfast it is sufficient. The internet usage rates for computers in the hostel are excessive but cheap access can be found easily in the city centre if you don't have a laptop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Address: Bob & Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Specialty lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.