We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hayfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hayfield Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Hayfield Manor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Friendly. knowledgable staff who are eager to please. Huge suite that had everything but was dated and like an icon to kitsch 1970s taste. Bathroom was shamfefully appointed. The hotel needs an upgrade of its rooms urgently. Breakfast was comical. Took 20 minutes to be served, coffee pot leaked coffee all over the crisp linen and my jeans. The concierge Michael is a font of knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest IrishroverBelgium,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

Thank you very much indeed for your kind praise of our staff. I am delighted to know that you found them to be friendly and knowledgeable. We are truly fortunate to have a wonderful team at Hayfield Manor, and I will be certain to forward your kind comments to them. I am sure that Michael will be especially glad to know that he made such a lasting impression.

I was very sorry to hear that you were less than pleased with your accommodation during your stay, however. I was also very disappointed to hear that there was an issue with your breakfast, and I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is most welcome and has been taken on board. We have a continuous programme of refurbishment in place at Hayfield Manor, and I would like to ensure that the room in question in is prioritised for improvement. Unfortunately your review does not identify which room you stayed in, and therefore I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss your concerns in greater detail.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    232
    70
    22
    12
See reviews for
335
995
53
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. The first time was in 2005 and the hotel was just as lovely eight years later. And we stayed in the same room! Room was very large and well appointed. Bathroom is nice size with two sinks, tub/shower. Staff was very friendly and attentive except for breakfast staff. We had an issue getting anyone to service our table. Food was very good, buffet had about anything you could possibly want to eat for breakfast. Hotel has sort of an old world feel to it. Our GPS did have a bit of trouble finding it. We would definitely go again. One note, we did not feel that it was close enough for us to walk to the city centre of Cork, but if you normally walk distance, you would have no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest ellajwade,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us once again at Hayfield Manor, and indeed for taking the time to write your review.

It was a pleasure to have you return to us recently, and I am delighted to know that you felt the hotel was just as lovely as on your previous visit. I am especially glad to know that you were pleased with your room, and I do hope that it brought back some happy memories of your last stay.

Thank you also for your very kind praise of our breakfast, and for your helpful feedback on our staff. I am disappointed to know that you found our breakfast staff to be neither friendly nor attentive, and I would like to assure you that I will be addressing this issue with the whole team. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this experience may have caused you. I very much hope that it has not diminished your good opinion of our hotel.

It would give me great pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights recently. It was a wonderful experience all the way around. Friendly and informative greeting. Lovely upgraded room. Service exceptional. Spa (according to my wife) first rate. Breakfast delicious with great service and many choices.

The thing that really set Hayfield Manor apart for us was our experience when returning from an evening concert in town. We left for the show around 4 PM, ate a nasty hot dog and had a few beers at the show and returned to the hotel around 11 PM that evening tired, hungry and thirsty. We were thrilled to find the hotel bar open and even more thrilled to be offered a fresh plate of sandwiches that had been made up in advance for those of us returning from the concert late at night after the restaurant had closed. The sandwiches hit the spot, the idea was brilliant and lo and behold there was no charge on our bill the next morning for anything but the drinks that we had ordered. This was a rather small touch but one that made a very positive impact on us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest ctbjr1309,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review, and I am thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. I am very glad to hear that you were so pleased with our service, our cuisine and our spa, and I would like to thank you for your very kind comments.

I am also delighted to know that you enjoyed the sandwiches after the concert. It was our pleasure to arrange them for you and for our other guests attending the concert, and I am very glad to know that this little touch made such a wonderful impression. Your kind words are greatly appreciated.

I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful and you are made to feel very welcome. Staff were able to give great directions to different locations in the Cork area. The room was very nice and had a great bathroom. Breakfast was superb. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is within walking distance of Cork city centre. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest Neil H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am absolutely delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay, and I am very glad that you were pleased with our welcome. I am also very glad to learn that you were pleased with our breakfast. It means a great deal to us all to know that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you also for your kind praise of our staff. It gives me great pleasure to hear such marvellous feedback from our guests, and I am sure that the whole team will be as thrilled as I am with your wonderful comments, and to know that they made such a fantastic impression.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully for an extended visit.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cailifornia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel!!! I enjoyed staying here very much, friendly, clean, surroundings a beautiful even though it's in city centre, beautiful food!
Will come back for sure!
Thanks everyone for making my stay memorable♥

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest CailiforniaYoshi,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was an absolute delight to read your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so immensely. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our staff, location and our cuisine. It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful recognition from our guests.

I was particularly delighted to hear that you would like to return to us, and it means a lot to me personally to know that you think so highly of Hayfield Manor.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

When I arrived in the Hayfield Manor I immediatly felt this place as a unique, charming and very cosy hotel. We stayed few days and it's definitively the best hotel in Cork, according to taxis as well ...

Not only beautifully preserved but it gives you the chance to relax in different area: the library, the tea room, the bar with a lovely background music

Starting with the staff, I never experienced so professional and nice people, available, efficient, smily (and not the commercial smile, the real one!).
The room is cleaned perfectly and checked for the evening, it is quite and very nicely decorated. Beds are very comfortable and big
The breakfast is amazing, you can choose hot meals from a menu then have a nice range of cold meal choice. The quality is the best and very tasty
We had the chance to have a dinner there also, the meals were excellent and the price are very fair.
And finally the spa: very nice people, professional, try the massages !
I didn't have such an nice experience since a long time and I will definitively come back for a girls spa week end to relax ... I always like to mention something to improve but really no, even the prices are reasonable
This manor in Paris would be 1000€ per night for sure ... and never with this staff professionalism
Just go for it and don't think !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest Lilly197780,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

I am absolutely delighted to know that you and enjoyed your stay so completely. I am very glad to learn that you were pleased with our cuisine, our accommodation, our spa and our service. It means a great deal to us all to know that we managed to exceed your expectations, and it gives me great pleasure to know that your stay with us left you relaxed and revived.

Thank you also for your kind praise of our staff. It is absolutely wonderful to hear such great feedback from our guests, and I will be certain to forward your kind comments to the team. I am sure they will be thrilled to know that they helped to make your stay so enjoyable.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I have recently just returned from a most memorable stay at Hayfield Manor Hotel. It was our first time at this hotel and we can't wait to return! From the minute we stepped through the door we were greeted with a warm welcome and instantly felt very comfortable and relaxed. All staff were very charming and it was clear that customer service is paramount! The room we stayed in was simply spectacular! Luxurious and elegant and immaculately clean!
We dined in Perrotts Garden Bistro! Again, service was excellent and the food was delicious!
Breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had! We would definitely recommend a stay at this charming hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettienne V, General Manager at Hayfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest chrissy1882,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hayfield Manor, and indeed for choosing to stay with us recently.

It was an absolute delight to read through your review. I am blown away by your wonderful praise of our hotel. It means a great deal to me that you would rate us so highly, and I am very glad that you were so pleased with every aspect of your stay. I am especially glad to know that you found our breakfast to be the best that you have ever had, and that you would recommend us to others.

Thank you also for your kind praise of our staff. It is absolutely wonderful to hear such great feedback from our guests, and I am sure our whole team will be as thrilled as I am to know that they exceeded your expectations.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hayfield Manor again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Ettienne van Vrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hayfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayfield Manor Hotel

Address: Perrott Avenue | College Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#1 Family Hotel in Cork
#1 Spa Hotel in Cork
#3 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hayfield Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the historic University College Cork, Hayfield Manor is set on a backdrop of two-acre of beautiful mature gardens and is just a pleasant stroll to the heart of Cork city. The charming coastal towns of Kinsale and Cobh and the world famous Blarney Castle are a short and scenic journey from the hotel. Residents of Hayfield Manor experience true Irish hospitality with staff dedicated to providing individual & memorable service along with every modern comfort. Spacious bedrooms have been individually designed with elegant marble bathrooms and relaxation space. Residents enjoy exclusive access to The Beautique Spa. The hotel offers two award-winning and distinctive restaurants: Orchids Restaurant specializes in fine Irish cuisine served with great sophistication and the vibrant Perrotts Bistro features Mediterranean and worldwide specialties. No stay in Cork would be complete without sampling the cuisine and levels of service that have earned Hayfield Manor a raft of accolades and titles including the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List, Hotel & Catering 5 Star Hotel of the Year, Georgina Campbell's Ireland Hotel of the Year, Irish Golf Hotel of the Year, AA Irish Hotel of the Year as well as an RAC Gold Ribbon Award for Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hayfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayfield Manor Cork
Hotel Hayfield Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hayfield Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.