We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Quaint grand hotel! Delicious breakfast. Lovely helpful staff particularly the receptionist. We stayed two nights and loved the quiet room and comfortable bed. Dinners there are good too. Taxi is only 7 euro to city centre or nice 15min walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear reviewer,


Thank you kindly for posting such a positive review of our hotel, following your recent visit to Cork. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are one of our main assets here at the hotel. I will be sure to thank the reception team for ensuring you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    210
    122
    40
    17
See reviews for
84
294
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

For some reason, my Garmin satnav brought me to the Ambassador Hotel via a route through Cork city more fitted for a mountain goat than a saloon car.
The hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the city. So if you are a walker, you will get plenty of exercise if you intend to visit the city centre frequently.
The hotel has a slightly dated and institutional look, with a clunky lift, but we found it spotlessly clean and great value for money. The food is good and well presented.
The staff are particularly friendly and very helpful.

Verdict: Take the walking exercise to and from the city and save yourself some serious money.

Room Tip: Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building from where you can enjoy panoramic views over the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel following your recent visit to Cork. I know the road well that your satnav brought you. This road is called Lovers Walk, which is a very historic part of Cork, with an interesting story. Most satnavs are set to bring you the quickest route, which would bypass the city centre.
I am delighted to read you feel you received value for money, and our staff made a positive impression on you. I agree the hill from the hotel to the City is steep, but as you say the panoramic views make it worth while.
We hope you will visit us again when you travel to Cork.

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel over the jazz weekend and had a great experience. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them- the cleaners were fantastic and kept us entertained throughout our stay!! Despite the hotel being very busy the staff were really great and made us very welcome.
The food at the hotel was lovely, especially the breakfast.
Although the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the city centre it's quite a nice walk, however it is up a relatively steep hill so high heels would make it a little difficult. A taxi from the city centre costs no more than 7 euro.
The rooms were a little old fashioned but very spacious and cleaned to a high standard.
I would definitely stay at the Ambassador again and would recommend it to anyone that might be considering staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I thank you kindly for posting such a favourable review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit to our City for the Jazz Festival. I am delighted the team at our hotel made such a positive impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again,

Kind regards.

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Room was clean up to eye level , and if you did not move the beds , bathroom spotless but some mildew, holes in the wall by the radiator, all it needs is a little bit of love and atention ,
Staff were a mixed bunch one receptionist was uninterested , but bar staff and the second receptionist we had dealings with made up for her short comings , New owners please spend a liitle on the rooms , could be a good product

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, following your recent visit to Cork. Please rest assured I have spoken with our Houskeeping Manager and Front of House Manager to address the issues you found during your stay. The love and attention you spoke about is well underway. I am sure should you revisit in the near future, you will see a marked improvement.

If you would be so kind as to contact me directly, I would like to discuss your stay with us,

Thank you again,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the Ambassador Hotel the weekend of the 19th - 22nd October. The hotel looks lovely from the otside and is reasonably handy although up quite a sleep hill. On arrival, Martha the very helpful receptionist allocated a lovely room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. We enjoyed our stay and it is a lovely quiet hotel in a residential neighbourhood. The staff are more than helpful and lovely clean hotel. The only complaint we would have is the breakfasts. We paid for the cooked breakfast option but unfortunatley my partner who had the full breakfast wasn't happy with the quality of the produce and the scrambled egg the first morning and poacked eggs the second were not that appetising. I had bacon and sausage and on the third morning the breakfast was stone cold. I ate a bit of it and was unwell the remainder of the day. The staff in the dining room were hard to communicate with and no-one asked us once if our meal was satisfactory. The duty manager on the Tuesday morning asked if our syat was satisfactory and I advised him of the issue. He said that he was sorry and someone would be in touch with me.... I'm still waiting. Pity as it is a nice spot however it does need a little TLC and smartening up.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit with us. I thank you for your positive comments of our hotel, and I would like to assure you the TLC you mention, is underway as part of the plan we have in place at the hotel.
I am concerned with the comments you made in relation to the breakfast, more so because on 3 separate mornings you were left feeling dissatisfied. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in relation to this. If you would kindly make contact with me, i would be more than happy to discuss this with you.


Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 (21) 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtmacsherry, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Well it seems like such a long time ago that we met with Rhona at the hotel to discuss our forthcoming nuptials and now it's all over. We are agreed on one thing that if we were to do it all again that not one thing would we change.
Right from the outset we knew that the Ambassador would be right . nothing was a problem and everything was approached in a relaxed and professional manner which immediately put us at ease- ok we knew it's wasn't a swish new 5 star but that was not whant we wanted . We got old world charm and elegance , amazing food and unbelievable service. Not one guest left disappointed and gosh I'd love to do it all over again.
Oh and not to mention the rooms - all fantastic. Spotless, Ginormous, and really comfortable - and the breakfast - cooked to order and beautifully presented .
So thanks to you all for making us and all our guests feel so special. It will be talked about for some time to come.... thanks Rhona and all the team.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are totally fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the Ambassador Hotel Cork, following your recent visit with us. Firstly Congratulations to you both on Wedding, I am absolutely delighted we were able to deliver on all promises made to you, and the fact that you would do it all over again with us, is an amazing endorsement.
I will be sure to thank Rhona and the team on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Address: Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#11 Business Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.