We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uphill but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Save Saved
You added New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Cork
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Uphill but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is an aging classic situated high above cork city.On arrival the reception staff were more than helpful and all done with a smile. Our room was 208 a large room with a fantastic view across cork, it had all the amenities you would expect of a 4 star hotel and the bathroom was functional with a good shower or the option to have a soak in the tub. The hotel has two bars one of which seem to open alternative days the staff however were nothing but pleasant and helpful nothing seemed to be to much trouble but I guess its all the charm of the emerald Isle.The breakfast was superb with the option of either a fully cooked or a continental choice all very good, except one small moan hard to get whole meal toast, low fat milk or margarine.
This hotel is not for the faint hearted as it is on the top of a hill walking down to the town is fine coming back you need to either be fit or get a taxi quite,a challenge after a good meal and a few beers. Would I stay here again yes I would it met my basic expectations and the pleasant staff made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am delighted that we have a guest who would recommend us and more importantly would return to us. It is a pleasure to read how our staff made your stay more enjoyable, I feel very lucky to have such a great team, and will continue to support their efforts to deliver a memorable guest experience.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    163
    100
    33
    12
See reviews for
64
228
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We so wanted to love this hotel...it looked our sort of place. Beautifully situated above Cork City, in pretty grounds, this historic building in its external presentation exudes elegance and gravitas. Sadly, the interiors are disappointing. Most of the original interior has gone, to be replaced in the main by modern furniture, comfortable, clean yet anemic rooms, and a feeling that the place really needs to find a personality.Toiletries are minimal, and the breakfast adequate, but not special. Where the ambassador scored highly with us was with its staff - pleasant reception and breakfast staff, and a wonderful barman who had the personality and charm that this grand building deserves. With some thought and direction this could be Cork's crowning jewel....but it has a way to go!!.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view. Lift arrangements to the second floor are very strange ( 2 separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. Your comments are fair and balanced, and are received in the intention with which they are meant. The hotel is currently going through a process of change of ownership, and with this we will be working very hard to ensure we bring the hotel to an acceptable standard expected from a four star property. I too believe that this hotel has the potential to be a Jewel in Cork, and we will strive to achieve this. I hope you will consider our hotel again when visiting Cork and would welcome any feedback you may have.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just back from a few days in Cork and stayed here, it's a lovely place and the location gives great views of Cork but i have to agree with many of the other reviews in that the building is old and dated but its more a three star than a four star: the rooms are big and clean but they're in no way fancy, there are no mini toiletries in the bathroom, rather you get one industrial sized 2-in-1 body wash/shampoo, limited dinner menu and yes there is quite a walk uphill to the hotel (about 10-15mins depending which end of town you go to) so not for those with limited mobility. Overall it was lovely and we enjoyed our stay but if you're looking for something high class i recommend you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: For sure choose a room with a balcony, the rooms at the back overlook a courtyard but those with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. Your comments are fair and balanced, and are received in the intention with which they are meant. The hotel is currently going through a process of change of ownership, and with this we will be working very hard to ensure we bring the hotel to an acceptable standard expected from a four star property. Since your visit we have made changes in the hotel, including a new menu which has been well received by guests and locals. I hope you will consider our hotel again in the near future and would welcome any feedback you may have.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a grand old hotel set up on a hill offering pleasant outlooks over Cork. We enjoyed our stay here with an airy comfortable room and all that we needed. We were here to visit ancestral sites so the location was perfect and the staff very relaxed and helpful. Full marks to the best server we had experienced in Ireland in the bar restaurant that night. He was very cheerful and professional. One thing the staff could look out for is the people who choose to stand out the front of the hotel to smoke as their smoke drifted straight up into our rooms quite often and was very unpleasant to non-smokers like us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting such positive feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am delighted our staff were able to make such a positive impression on your stay. I truly believe we have some of the friendliest hard working team members working here with us, and I am grateful for the service they provide to all guests. I also welcome your comments on guests smoking at the front door. I hope you were able to find some interesting facts during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I only stayed here one night during my 10 days in Ireland, but it was easily the nicest place I stayed. What's even better is that it was also the most affordable place that I stayed. Seriously nice rooms with very comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms. The 10 foot ceilings definitely make this a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Parking is located right in front and it's free.

It only takes 10 minutes to walk down to the city center. Some people complain about the uphill trek to get back to the hotel, but I didn't think it was all that bad. I actually liked it because it helped me walk off all the food and beers I had that night.

My only complaint was the wifi. It's free, but the connection is only available in the lobby and the signal kept cutting out.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting such positive feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. It is reassuring to know we were able to deliver and exceed expectations of a hotel stay in Cork. I also welcome your comments on our WiFi access. I am glad to say we are currently putting plans in place to have full WiFi access for all guests throughout the hotel. Which I know is a must for hotel guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a large old building above the main town. It is showing its age but kept in reasonable shape. The rooms are reasonable size and clean and comfortable. Food and drink was a little limited for choice but breakfast was OK being a mix of buffet and freshly cooked.
The staff did their job but without any real enthusiasm or friendliness except the receptionist how was pleasant.
OK but wouldn’t be my first choice on a place to stay in Cork.
Places to visit include the English market, City jail (although not a patch on Freemantle) the Brewery, Blarney castle, Barryscourt castle plus a walk round Cobh town nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Cork and the many attractions we have to offer. I was disappointed to see we did not rate higher in your estimation of us, and that our staff didn’t give you the feeling of friendliness and enthusiasm. I usually find through guest feedback that our team would be the main asset of the hotel, and receive high praise from many reviewers. Please accept our apologies, for not offering you the same courtesy.
If you had any specific comments that you would like to address with me personally, I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this with you.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Ambassador. We should have never checked in. Our room was dirty especially the carpet which we asked to be cleaned two times after our arrival and it was never done. The toilet flushed with hot water and hot water came out of both sink taps. We reported this to the front desk and nothing was done to correct it. We had to use the bath tub cold water tap to brush our teeth! The walls were scuffed, toilet paper holder missing. You needed two elevators to get to the "remodeled" room. The location of the hotel was about a 15 minute walk to City Centre all down hill, ergo an all up hill climb returning. The staff was friendly but unable to get our issues corrected. The breakfast in the dining room was the worst we had in two weeks travelling through Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback following your visit to the Ambassador Hotel Cork. It was with great disappointment that I read your review.
I hope you can trust through our guest feedback that this would not be a typical guest experience fro our hotel and services. Here at the hotel we have an ethos of guest care and comfort. For not delivering on this occasion to you, please accept our sincere apologies. Please rest assure I have spoken with our maintenance team and housekeeping team to ensure these issues are not reoccurring
If you would like to make contact with me to discuss in more detail your experience, please do not hesitate to do so.

Thank you again for your valued feedback,

Kind regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager
+353 21 4539000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Address: Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cork
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#12 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.