We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel-dreadful pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Moran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Springs Moran Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Springs Moran Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice hotel-dreadful pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived at the Silver Springs hotel and were delighted to be allocated a clean, spacious suite. The hotel was operating at full capacity and the staff were coping well. There was a busy atmosphere in the lobby and bar area. We ate in the bar and the food was well presented and tasty. Breakfast was equally as good with a good variety of food available.
However I really need to point out how dreadful the pool facilities are at this hotel. You are required to collect a voucher and towels from reception and travel up a very steep hill in a car to get to the pool. This wouldn't be too bad if it was worth the effoert but in all honesty I can only compare the pool facilities to something from a third world country, cold miserable very run down and filthy. My child refused to stay in the pool for any length of time- there was no baby pool area. He sumed it all up on the way home in the car..mommy why did you bring me to that dreadful place. When I asked Where to my surpride he replied that awful pool.. I just had to laugh because I refuse to go back to that pool ever again. In summary a nice hotel if you are not interested in their 'leisure' facilities!!!

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mum2011,

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and I am very appreciative of your comments with regards to the helpfulness and efficiency of our staff.

As per your comments with regards to our leisure facilities, I have forward your comments to Source Leisure Centre's management team in order for them to follow up on your comments. Although the swimming facilities are managed independently from our hotel, I am extremely disappointed about your comments as it still affects your overall experience at our property.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. In the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or on +353 (0)21 450 7533.

Kind regards

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    191
    108
    52
    30
See reviews for
137
145
16
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at midnight, friendly staff were on duty at reception to welcome us 'home'. Wireless Internet available in the rooms made letting family know we'd arrived safely easy. Helpful when questioned were asked.
The food was very tasty! And when we asked for something that wasn't on the menu, they went out of their way to get us something as close to what we wanted as possible.
Check in and check out was simple. The room was spacious and serviced daily. Everything worked as it should have. Very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Angcarabb,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

In the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or on +353 (0)21 450 7533.

Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel lives up to its record. Unpretentious but good solid value for money. The breakfast is excellent. My only complaint is the bathroom. We were in room 206 (very boring view) and the basin taps where switched, hot on the right and cold on the left and the hot tap was broken, until you turned it three or four times no water comes out, then it came out in a whooshing gush. The fixed shower head dripped continually because of the old fashioned tap which presumably leaked. Every day the cleaning staff closed the tap tight (and I mean real tight!) but the shower still dripped. I also have my favourite complaint about fixed shower heads; they should be banned from all hotels in exchange of showers with a flexible cord which lets you get water where you want it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a king suite. It was a great room with lots of space for our 9 month to crawl around. Loved the tv / wall that moved round so you could either watch in bed or on the couch. Massive big bathroom and having heat pump was very useful. Staff were very helpful. Good car parking. Great having access to the pool, however we didn't realize it was going to be a drive or a walk up the hill to get to it. Looks a bit tired from the outside but nice inside. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Alana D,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and in the meatime if you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or alternatively on 021-4507533.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just just got back from 3 nights at the Silver Springs, we found the staff wonderful, service was fantastic.

Our family room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, hotel itself was pristine and it's clear that the staff are really proud of their hotel, they couldn't do more for you.
Food is excellent, breakfasts were very plentiful and the dinner was really excellent, we enjoyed it soo much!
We used the pool a few times, it's a pity you have do drive up to it, but it's not that big a deal, and the facilities are good there.
Overall, we would recommend it. Price was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Burclo,

Thank you very much for your terrific comments in relation to your recent stay.

It gave us great pride to read your review on Tripadvisor, especially as they reflect what The Silver Springs Moran Hotel is all about.

We are delighted that you and your family had such memorable stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything I can personally do to make your future stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me direclty at frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or alternatively on 021-4507533.

Kind regards

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Myself and a colleague were in Cork on business (we stage Murder Mystery Events) and stayed 2 nights at the hotel. Its a good hotel - clean and pleasant service from staff. The hotel parking is complimentary. Breakfast was very good - the bar gets busy on a Saturday night but we were lucky enough to get a table. Its a little outside of Cork city centre (a short taxi ride away), which isn't too much of a problem. Overall, we'd be happy to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Jonathang,

Thank you very much for your recent review of the hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

In the meantime, should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me direclty.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our fourth time staying here.The service can not be faulted.One off the few hotels left with smoking rooms(nice not to be treated like a leper).Great location away from the city but still close enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo T, Front Office Manager at Silver Springs Moran Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Irishjim35,

Thank you very much ofr your lovely review of our hotel.

It is terrific to hear that we consistently meet and exceed your expectactions. We look forward to welcoming you back for the fith time in the near future.

In the meantime, should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me direcly at frontoffice.silversprings@moranhotels.com or alternatively on 021-4507533.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Pablo Trossero
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Moran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Moran Hotel

Address: Dublin Road | Tivoli, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cork
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#15 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Springs Moran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This deluxe 4star hotel is located on the edge of Cork city, easily accessbible to Cork Aiport. Leisure centre, gym, watermarq restaurant and large convention centre on site in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Moran & Bewleys Hotel Group, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Springs Moran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Springs Moran Cork
Hotel Silver Springs Moran
Silver Springs Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Moran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.