We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The staff hadn't record of our booking & made a big deal out of sorting a reservation for us (even though the room was available without issue). They seemed to be very concerned about getting our details for security reasons & yet didn't pay attention when we'd answered their questions - as a result we were asked our names three or four times! Bar service was understaffed and they didn't have a good strategy for dealing with customers in order of their arrival to the bar - very frustrating & slow service as a result. Everywhere in the hotel seemed to be very hot! Rooms were stuffy & uncomfortable. Disappointing as the rooms looked nice & were of a good size with a nice bathroom (liked the idea of a seat in the shower! But shower temperature was a bit lukewarm & pressure too low). Food in restaurant was just not up to scratch - 2 star at best but restauarant staff were pleasant & helpful - breakfast menu was good & varied choice (standard grand but a cooked breakfast is hard to get wrong). This hotel has the potential to "pull up its socks" & earn the 4 star rating...the setting is nice (pity the rest of hotel isn't as nice a style as the front reception but it's not bad), the location is good & handy to cork city. The staff needs to be a little more consistent in their service standard, the heating system needs to be sorted (in rooms & restaurant), the bar staff need better training & the standard of food served needs a major overhaul! If I were staying again I certainly wouldn't eat in the hotel's restaurant. I think at it's current offering this hotel is closer to 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    258
    112
    52
    24
See reviews for
201
472
28
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co. antrim
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is situated just outside the village of Douglas and a 15 min. drive to Cork city.
The hotel has a fitness suite and a pool with the guests may use. It also has a spa, which according to my wife, is very expensive for the treatments on offer. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice. The bedroom was large with a queen size bed, sofa, desk/chair and tv. A free safe and hairdryer were also in the room. The bathroom was
quite large with a power shower over the bath.
The hotel/rooms were very clean and all staff were polite and friendly and would go out of their way to assist in any way possible.
Ref. the rooms - rooms ending in 02 - 26 overlook the rear of the hotel which included outside the kitchen and storage areas and could be noisey at times. Most of the other rooms overlook a nice garden area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Having come from the stunning parknasilla hotel in Kerry, we expected the maryborough hotel to be a bit of a let down. However, from the minute we arrived we experienced exceptional service, a stunning room with lovely garden views, relaxing calm thermal suite & wonderful dinner. It is particularly worth mentioning the restaurant manager who took time to ask our first names and took an interest in us without being overbearing. The staff in the thermal suite were knowledgable about what I could & couldn't use being 7 months pregnant, which really put my mind at ease. Hotel is perfectly situated being so close to cork city although you may never want to leave once you arrive! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great stay here - we arrived on a Saturday afternoon after a wedding in West Cork the previous evening- we needed to sleep.....and the beds couldn't have been more comfortable. The curtains blocked out all day light, and we recovered in peace!

We didn't go to the Spa, but chose to take a dip in the pool instead on Sunday morning - after we checked out, so it wasn't too busy. I've been into the Spa before, and the regular leisure centre/pool area is on a par - a jacuzzi and steam, and we were entirely rejuvenated.

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we didn't want to leave on Sunday at all - so much so, that we stayed for lunch and relaxed on the lovely comfortable leather couches in the lobby for about 2 hours reading newspapers, drinking tea and warming up for the trip home.

Overall, great value, extremely comfortable and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

They say it is better to travel hopefully than to arrive. I am not so sure after our recent stay at the Maryborough which was most enjoyable. It is a charming hotel full of warmth and character and in all respects exceeded our expectations. The general atmosphere in the hotel was welcoming and the staff could not have been more helpful, kind and informative. The room which overlooked the garden was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was generous and of the highest quality. All in all, our stay was very pleasant and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed here recently for two nights. The hotel staff were excellent. The restaurant was good for a hotel restaurant. The bar area was very busy while we were there (due to a couple of weddings) and the service was somewhat slow. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in the Maryborough for five nights in the first week of August and had a great time. We put a SuperValu 3 night break together with a SuperValu 2 night break, and the hotel had no issue with that.

We had stayed here in August '09 as well, and the sound of cracking hot water pipes caused us to move rooms back then; unfortunately we were in a similarly-located room on the first night of our stay this time, so we had to move again. The hotel staff had absolutely no problem with this; but, as the place was jammed, they had to put us in one of the older rooms in the 'house' part of the hotel (just off reception).

While these are novel rooms, they're obviously in the process of being renovated - there was a noticeable smell of paint. We stayed the night - and enjoyed the bottle of wine that the hotel provided on the house! - but requested a second move in the morning.

Again, the staff couldn't have been more understanding. We went out the second day and came back in the evening to our new room. It was perfect - but there was no sign of our luggage! No panic - it had been left into the wrong room and the staff not only sorted the problem quickly, they left us a lovely bowl of fruit and a typed note apologising for the inconvenience of the missing luggage!

We dined twice in the restaurant with no complaints whatsoever - and even though we were on a deal, there were no restrictions on what could be ordered from the menu. Breakfast was fine too - we noticed that there seemed to be slightly less in the fry than last year, but there were loads of cereals, breads, juices etc. laid out on the buffet so there was no danger of hunger. Free newspapers for guests every day too.

The Maryborough is doing very well in the recession, and there's a good reason for that; it's a smashing hotel between 5 and 10 minutes from Cork city centre with all the facilites you need and a staff that are second to none. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.