We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel shame about the dining area for dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel shame about the dining area for dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I was looking forward to a lovely two day break in the Maryborough Hotel. At checkin we booked a dinner reservation for 6.30pm on our welcome letter it said dinner would be served Tuesday to Thursday in the Zings Restaurant however on check in we were told dinner would be served in the cafe bar.

Upon arrival at 6.30pm we were told no table was reserved for us despite rechecking with the receptionist. The waiter showed us to an unreserved table in the bottom area of the bar area I had spotted an unreserved table in the area leading from the reception desk to the lifts I would call it a foyer area.

The food was good once one could summon the waiter however as I love to dress up going to dinner it was not very satisfactory eating in an area where people were constantly walking up and down with their suitcases.

The breakfast was served in Zings Restaurant each morning. On the following night upon return from dinner which we had in Barrys Bar in nearby Douglas village (excellent)
I discovered the restaurant was opened however it was to accomondate a private dinner party! I fail to understand why the restaurant was not opened to paying guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    223
    97
    46
    22
See reviews for
179
427
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Just returned from my 5th stay at the Maryborough, I cannot speak highly enough of this Hotel, it is my favourite hotel in the world!, it has everything you need for an unforgetable stay, The rooms are lovely, the garden is so tranquil as is the hotel, The spa is the best I have ever been in, the food is exquisit an all this is married together because of the fantastic staff, they just can't do enough for you. So I just want to say a big Thank You to all of you... Again. See you soon
Joan Mackey

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed here for a friends wedding a few weeks ago. Lovely hotel, just a few minutes from Cork city centre. Our room overlooked some lovely gardens with lots of birds and trees to peek out at. The room was very spacious and the Hotel itself was very well kept. My girlfriend was very impressed with the spa as well as the well-appointed bathroom and quality toiletries. Will definitely return for a longer stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights over easter in a spa room with double jacuzzi bath, which was so worth the extra expense. The room was brilliant with great lighting.
The food was of a great standard, with the breakfast being outstanding and served till 11am. But its the staff that make this place, all so plesant, and make a great effort.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We took a break to celebrate our 30th anniversary and chose to spend 3 nights in the Maryborough hotel and spa. The room was clean with a lovely private view of the gardens. The pool and facilities were within east reach of our room via the escalator. The 4 course dinner which we had on the first night was one of the best meals we have had, the steaks were superb and everything tasted so fresh. This was not a once off and we were similarly delighted with the standard of all subsequent meals including the delicious breakfasts.
The service was outstanding and friendly. We were made to feel special throughout our stay. Thank you all including Kieran.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Went here for a three night stay as part of our honeymoon with extended family - was very very dissapointed - I had researched the hotel, looked at the reviews on this web site, contacted Sarah in Reservations prior to our arrival and was so looking forward to our stay. I booked three rooms months in advance of our arrival and was shocked when I arrived. our rooms were located beside the lift, the noise was horrific.
As we were on honeymoon I decided to splash out and stay in deluxe rooms overlooking the garden which Sarah assured me were beautiful. What a let down. i would hate to see what the standard rooms were like. Our television did not work and when my husband notified reception, we were told it would be the next day before it would be fixed. I notified reception and told them this was unsatisfactory and requested a room change if the TV could not be fixed. Our little boy needed to watch TV, he was on his holidays after all!! 5 mins later, a man was in our room fixing the tv but his attitude left alot to be desired.
We had dinner in the bar and while the service was good, for what we got it was very expensive. all in all a let down - the place needed a good paint and a bit of atmosphere. we checked out a day early as we were so dissapointed with the hotel - will not be returning and would advise anybody wishing to spend their hard earned cash to do it elsewhere. It was extremely expensive for a two night stay b and b and it was on a wendesday and thursday night in early october where you would imagne it would be cheaper. I thought we would be staying in a palace but unfortunately we stayed in a dump.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed in this hotel last week on an easter "deal" to enjoy a break in cork.

Arrived on the friday afternoon went to the room found it on the small side not to bad.
A few cobwebs in the corners of the room suggest it needs a deep clean...the window boards looked like they have recently been replaced as the plaster around the new ones.

Our double bed was two single beds pushed together and the rooms are stud partitioned so as soon as next door arrived you knew about it and the argument they had .

Now the good points....Nice location and spa services altho we were told limited booking was available that weekend. The restaurant was great a very nice french man attended to ever need and the steak had to have been one of the best cooked I have ever had..the Pate parfait was also nice but the jelly served with it was poor.

Breakfast was also a highlight with buffet cold fod and table service hot food.

I would recommend this hotel for the food and service but not for the room we had.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#6 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.