We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service, friendly staff and lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Cork
Dublin
1 review
“Super service, friendly staff and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed for one night in the Maryborough Hotel and Spa, which was just not long enough! We were greeted on arrival by a lovely receptionist and even though we were early, she arranged our room for us straight away. I enjoyed the facilities at the beautiful spa, which is tucked away under the hotel - fabulous treatments and wonderful professional staff. We had lunch at the hotel, which was lovely and good value for money. Breakfast the next morning was even more of a treat! Quick, efficient and tasty. I couldn't reccommend staying here highly enough. The room was beautiful with a lovely view of the well kept gardens - it was a struggle to get out of bed the next morning!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    194
    85
    42
    21
See reviews for
151
385
25
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed at the Maryborough in September for 2 nights and had an amazing time. We went for a relaxing break and that is exactly what we had! When we arrived, we got to our room to found we'd been upgraded and were given a complimentary bottle of wine!
The room was lovely and spacious, modern decor, gorgeous bathroom, and lovely balcony overlooking the garden and grounds.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, set in a small wooded area away from the road- No Traffic!
It's about a ten minute walk from Douglas village which was brilliant- there are some lovely restaurants as well as a small shopping complex with a cinema and a supermarket!

It's also about a 15 min bus journey from the centre of Cork so it was great as it was close enough to the centre to explore, but in leafy suburbs so you really felt the retreat coming back to the hotel.

The hotel's finest feature has to be the leisure facilities- good size gym with very modern machines, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam. The attention to detail was fantastic- fresh jugs of ice water, slices of oranges, figs, and fresh juices in the gym, changing rooms, and by the pool- brilliant touch!!

To top it all was the vitality suite- absolute luxury! 1 hour book in advance hire of single sex suites that had, a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, loconium, and heated lounges for the girls, and hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam and heated loungers for the boys. There was also a relaxation room with loungers, magazines and headphones with a stunning waterfall feature.

All the facilities were free of charge which was amazing, and definitely the highlight of our stay!

I would most definitely stay here again, we had a brilliant time, faultless service, and a great breakaway!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

A beautiful hotel in a very scenic setting. I was surprised and delighted when we got to the hotel - it exceeded all my expectations. We received a very friendly welcome and were shown to our room. The room was beautiful with a big spacious balcony overlooking the gardens. It was a sunny evening so the balcony was perfect for chilling out. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious. We had to go out to meet people for dinner that night but I am sure that if we had eaten in the hotel, we would not have been disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights & were really pleased we had chosen it. Plenty of car park spaces, clean, spacious room with views of the garden. Good location not to far from city centre. Helpful staff. We used the pool which had a jaccusi, we also had a treatment each in the spa which was great as you were treated really well and we came away feeling really relaxed. The treatments are very expensive but we were given a 30 euro's off voucher each which we used.
Breakfast had a small cooked menu & lots of continental to choose from.
We really enjoyed our stay & would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Having travelled from Dublin in the Friday evening traffic, the warm welcome by the Maryborough staff and large open fire that greeted us, was just what we needed! The room was lovely, extremely spacious and beautifully decorated with a great size balcony over-looking the beautiful gardens. We soon realised that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room with a bottle of vino wating for us in the room - compliments of the hotel - it was a great start to our stay!!! We were attending the afters of a wedding of a friend and honestly I couldnt say enough complimentary things about the wedding suite - fabulously laid out ballroom (specially loved the lighting!) and a wonderful residence bar - brides to be,definetely a venue worth considering!! Ordered breakfast in the room for the next morning - best decision ever - ate el fresco on the balcony and the breakfast was fab!
Really enjoyed our stay at the Maryborough - great location ~ 5mins from Douglas and 10mins from Cork city centre. Only regret is that we didn't get time to check out the leisure centre and spa facilities - so will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were all very tired when we got off the plane in Cork, and of course like any traveler we were suffering from severe jet lag and all we felt like doing was falling asleep on our feet.

Before we went anywhere else, we had to run some errands there in Cork. But finally after exploring the new land that we had landed on, the kids began to become tired.

We finally arrived at the Maryborough and I have to admit, the service at the Maryborough is so amazing, they make you feel so important kind of like your royalty! They greeted us by name! And after that we were given a grand tour of the hotel and finally sat down for some afternoon tea. The food was GREAT there, I loved it a lot. So after all this running around, we were all frayed down to a fiber of yarn and we were so pooped that we were dead on our feet. So when we were showed to our room someone suggested we take a nap to "catch up" to Cork time, so with no problem everyone had fallen asleep on the comfiest mattresses within one minute.

After we had awaken, we felt refreshed and were glad to have slept. I had been very surprised with the comfort of the mattresses, especially since I had been sleeping on a cot. The Maryborough is a great place to go and kick back to relax if you ever find yourself in Cork, Ireland. Although I never got to the spa. :(

Trust Me! SimplyPut6

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I stayed in the Maryborough this month for two nights for a wedding of a friend. on arrival at reception were greeted by two lovely girls and were informed we had been upgraded to a suite. the porter arrived to carry our bags to second floor as no lift in the old part of house. but 2 floors wont kill anyone to walk.
our suite comprised of living room bedroom bathroom, complimentary wi-fi, wine, mineral water, baileys, and tea/coffee and none of your teabags or instant variety- fresly brewed only thanks very much.

enjoyed some bar food and while we only had sandwiches and chips our review of the hotel cooking comes from the wedding on day two. the food was superb. service fantastic everyone ate the together. unlike some other establishments who employ a waitress per 50 guests they had one 2 per table.
breakfast in bed on both mornings was tasty, hot, and delivered on time. didnt try the spa and would go back with the girls to give this a shout.. lovely place that everyone would enjoy from my best friend to my mum.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#7 Business Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.