We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms, service and food - a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Cork
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic rooms, service and food - a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at the Maryborough Hotel as we were attending a wedding there. The setting is beautiful with the old manor house forming the hotel entrance. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious with a large comfortable bed and a balcony big enough to sit out on. We were lucky with the weather and the guests were able to enjoy the fabulous gardens. The food was second to none - both for the wedding and breakfast the following day. The service was excellent and the staff were fantastic when a lady at our table spilt wine over herself. Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the spa, but other members of the wedding party said that it was wonderful. We definately intend to go back and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cork.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    193
    84
    41
    21
See reviews for
150
383
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Perfect for any traveler. Great for a wedding, which they do 3 times a week, secluded and lush greenery. AMAZING breakfast made to order hot yummy eggs benedict:) The overall best hotel on our trip. No AC but they gave us a fan. The spa was awesome but the bathes were cold bc the temp was broken but people still used them, and i could care less as it was a great massage and the relaxation room was great. I have s many good points to tell! They were sooooo helpful with directions and internet was available. My pictures speak for themselves in regard to the grounds. They were tearing off the wallpaper in the lobby so it was kinda messy but i really didn't care bc they were remodeling it in time for a wedding that weekend...so beautiful:) BEST breakfast, best greenery, secluded and sublime, great spa which you wouldn/t expect in Ireland, good food, and all types of people from conventions to quiet....perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublink
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Bedrooms are bright and airy and nicely decorated. We had a room with a large balcony overlooking the gardens. Breakfast was excellent- the cold buffet is probably the best range I have seen in an Irish hotel. There is also a wide choice of hot dishes available. Unfortunately I did not get to experience the spa but will definitely be back and try a treatment.
Dinner was excellent both the food and the service. Pity the restaurant was closed for dinner (as we visited midweek) therefore dinner was served in the bar/lounge area. The low seating and tables in this area are not suitable for dining- this was our only gripe(would have been better if we were informed as we booked dinner several weeks prior to our arrival). Perhaps management should look at alternative seating or opening part of the restaurant. The lounge was also fairly busy as everyone was going through there from a wedding to get to the gardens for a cigarette! But the food was so good these little issues didn't really spoil our dining experience.
The hotel is ideally located close to the city yet has a rural feel to it as soon as you go through the gates. Plenty parking.
We left feeling very relaxed and will return. Would recommend for Leisure or business- excellent hotel. Staff and service excellent. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We travelled down for a leisure break for the weekend. When we arrived we got a great welcome from the staff. Our double room was spacious and had a 6ft wide bed which was so comfortable. The staff all over the hotel, from the spa staff to the bar staff, were all very friendly and helpful. The food was great, spoiled for choice at the breakfast. The dinner in Zing restaurant was really good, the same food is also served in the bar, if you don't want formal dining. The hotel is also a 15 min walk or an €8 taxi drive to the main street of restaurants and bars. We will definitely be back but hopefully for a longer stay...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

we stayed in this hotel for 3 wonderful nights.the staff in the reception area were very friendly.the room was very clean and very stylish.it had every thing you could have asked for.the grounds of the hotel were beautiful.the food in the restaurant was of a very high standard.the staff in this hotel are very friendly and polite.its obviouse this comes from the management as they all were extremely helpful.the manager we spoke to was very helpful i think his name was justin.i have never enjoyed a stay as much as here.thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Recently stayed at the Maryborough Hotel. Cant speak enough of the hotel. Greeted by pleasant and friendly staff, the room was extremely comfortable and immaculately clean with a view of the beautiful gardens from the balcony, the hotel in general had a real homely feel about it.
Location wise it’s only a walk down to Douglas village where there was a nice selection of shops and bars with good nightlife, and only minutes drive form the South Link, while on the other hand. one looking to get away and relax, the Spa is available to relax unwind after a long day. All in all I will definitely be returning to the Maryborough House Hotel and would advise anyone planning a trip to Cork to stay here.

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Beautiful place, very friendly staff. Spa treatments were fantasic,a bit pricey. Food both moring and evening was mouth watering .Manager Joe Foran went out of his way for me. Even treated to lovely bottle of red wine and a reduction on our bill, as I needed to change rooms. Its a great place for a ladies pampering weekend, or book a spa room if you plan on spending your time in bed, resting or playing!! Just park up your car and get the treamtents you desire until you have to depart.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.