We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - we'll be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Kilkenny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel - we'll be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled with 4 friends and we were all upgraded to executive rooms which was a nice touch. Reception staff were exceptional as we had to cancel one room from our booking at short notice due to illness and they were very considerate. Our deal included prosecco, chocolate dipped strawberries (divine!) and a four course dinner. The meal was particularly impressive, with all six of us happy with our choices. We didn't get to use the spa but had a quick look and we were impressed with what we saw. Book your treatments in advance as it was very busy.
Breakfast is cooked to order from an impressive menu. The pancakes, omelettes and brown bread were excellent.
The only downside was the housekeeping trolley clinking past our room from 8:00 on Sunday morning - we were in room 211 and the housekeeping store was across the hall.
A lovely hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have balcony with table and chairs overlooking the gardens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Trish H,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent stay at The Maryborough. It’s fabulous to hear you enjoyed your stay and are planning to return to the hotel in the future. That is such a wonderful compliment. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our reception staff. We rely on our team to warmly welcome all of our guests to the hotel, and feel they do a brilliant job of this. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the executive rooms with the garden view and balcony. It’s a delight to know you also enjoyed your dinner and breakfast in Bellini’s and found the food impressive. We hope that you will also have the opportunity to make use of our Spa facilities upon your return. I would like to offer my apologies that you were disturbed by the housekeeping trolly. Please know that I have passed your feedback on to our management team, and we will look into a solution. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    258
    112
    52
    24
See reviews for
202
472
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I availed of the very tempting Valentine's offer in this wonderful hotel. We were met at Reception by Jenny - very efficient and helpful. We were allocated a room on the third floor which was very spacious and had lovely views of the garden. Awaiting us as part of our deal was a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and chocolate coated strawberries. We thoroughly enjoyed the Jacuzzi and sauna. Full marks to the Spa staff. We dined in the Bellini Restaurant which was a most enjoyable culinary experience - beautiful tasty food, warm atmosphere, and exemplary waiter service (David). Breakfast next morning was cooked to order. Couldn't fault anything. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear bredacobh,

Thank you for your recent review of your enjoyable stay at The Maryborough. We’re so pleased you took advantage of our special offer and chose to spend Valentine’s with us at the hotel. Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We’re proud of our team and know that they’re such a vital part to a guest’s experience while staying with us. I’ll be sure to pass your kind remarks along to them. We’re delighted to hear you found your room comfortable and appreciated the garden view. We’re also thrilled you had time to use our Spa facilities. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the food and atmosphere in Bellini’s Restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were delighted to spend time again in this lovely hotel despite the weather. Special thanks to the lovely receptionist Jackie who dealt kindly and professionally with all our requests and queries especially the request to change rooms. The rooms are lovely, the food and serving staff are excellent. The pool is a little on the small size for my liking and the jacuzzi was not working but the gym was excellent. By the way I was delighted with the new furnishings. It is so nice to be able to sit and converse in a chair chosen for its comfort rather than fashion!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Blackrockgal,

Thank you for your review of your experiences at The Maryborough. We’re delighted you chose to visit us recently and hope you were warm and cozy during your stay and able to escape the weather. We’re pleased you found our reception staff kind, professional, and helpful as our whole team endeavors to enhance our guests’ stay. Thank you for your compliments of the food and staff in Bellini’s as well as the new look. I'll be passing along your feedback to our staff. We’re glad you were able to make use of our leisure facilities and please know, the jacuzzi is in the process of being repaired. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

stayed here on valentines weekend with my husband and friends, we arrived early, around half twelve,reception staff lovely but reception area needs to be updated, only bad thing i could say!!. Room was ready so was able to check in before using spa, waiting in our room was chocolate covered strawberries and processo, yum yum. spa fab and staff too, i had lucy and she certainly had her work cut out with me, very pleasant girl and knowledgeable too, dinner in restaurant, scallops to start, a bit on the small side, duck for main and to follow a divine oreo chocolate mousse. testaurant staff were more very efficient especialy considering it was so busy, breakfast, ok homemade scones and cookies a nice touch, cooked breakfast was cold, all in all i would return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Joey michelle D,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay at The Maryborough. We’re delighted you chose to celebrate Valentine’s with us and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your compliments of our reception, spa and restaurant teams. I’ll be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them as I know they'll be as thrilled to hear the feedback as I am. So glad you enjoyed dinner, particularly the dessert. It’s a personal favourite. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of our Spa facilities and hope you found the experience relaxing. I’m disappointed to hear your cooked breakfast was cold and will bring that to the attention of the relevant department as well. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The spa in the hotel was absolutely lovely, but they segregate men and wimmin, arghhh! I don't want to spend my Valentine Spa time with three doughty same sex Irish ladies do I!!! That ain't sexy. I found it too hot in there anyway, so lovely as it was, I didn't stay too long.

Next morning, after a lush cooked breakfast, we went to the gym together. In eight years, this is the first time, and I'm really proud. The hotel's leisure suite had it's own pool with spa, sauna and steam, and we were allowed mixed sex in there, thankfully. Although the need for a silly hat once again irked me, why do they do that, it's pointless, especially when you see blokes with more hair than werewolves.

I like this hotel a lot. Hard beds though! Well thought out, nice location, ample parking, and charming staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear PaulaMellon,

Thank you for your recent review of The Maryborough. We appreciate you allowing us to be a part of your Valentine’s Day celebration. We’re pleased you liked the hotel and found our location convenient and our staff friendly. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the quality of breakfast. We’re so glad to hear you found the Spa lovely. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment in the separate male and female facilities. I’m delighted, however, that you were able to take advantage of our leisure club facilities and spend time together with your partner in the pool, sauna, and steam room. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in The Maryborough Hotel on Valentines weekend and enjoyed a fantastic, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. First impression of the hotel was great as we were checked in by very friendly and pleasant staff at reception. Lovely fire in the lobby was a very cosy feature. Our room on the first floor was spacious and very comfortable, right next to the Spa and a few steps from the bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant on the Sat night, food was great. Gourmet style but good sized dishes. Dessert was top class!!! The staff in the restaurant were so helpful and nice, nothing was too much trouble. Visited the Thermal Suite before checking out on Sunday morning. Bit surprised to learn it was separate thermal suites for men and women but this wasn't a huge deal really. Was a very tranquil setting, great sized jacuzzi and overall a gorgeous facility. Came away very very relaxed and refreshed! Highly recommend the Maryborough, fab setting tucked away in the outskirts of Cork City but still close enough to city to be convenient. Very efficient staff who could not do enough for us, waitresses in restaurant and manager Shane were especially welcoming and found the receptionist on check out really friendly and genuine. Cant wait to visit again asap!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear cats222,

Thank you for choosing The Maryborough to celebrate Valentine’s Day and for taking the time to share your experiences. We’re thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay and were able to relax surrounded by our beautiful gardens. Thank you for your kind remarks on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. The Maryborough team works hard each day to make our guests’ visit pleasant and memorable. I’ll be passing along your compliments to our reception and restaurant team. Delighted you found your room comfortable, and the food in Bellini’s delicious. I’m glad you were also able to take advantage of our Thermal Suites and were able to unwind in the tranquil setting. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Can honestly say the best hotel experience we have had. Breakfast was delightful and the bar food had lovely options and was top notch. The bar area was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful and were extremely personable. We also used the pool and the spa which was lovely but unfortunately I didn't have time for a treatment (I definitely will on my return). We stayed for two nights but could have happily stayed for a week. Looking forward to coming back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Jo K,

Thank you for the lovely compliments in your recent review of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share the experiences of your stay. We're absolutely delighted to hear you had such a wonderful visit to The Maryborough. Thank you for your compliments regarding the quality of food served in Bellini's as well the friendliness of our staff. I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to our team. We're pleased you were able to use some of our Spa and Club facilities and hope you will unwind with a treatment upon your return. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin L
Digital Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.