We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis tucked away in suburban Cork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis tucked away in suburban Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nestled in its nineteen acres, this wonderful hotel is cut off from the suburban neighborhoods around it; but is still convenient to Cork and the southwest. The staff are wonderful, the food is excellent, the rooms well-appointed and clean. It was a wonderful place to call "home" while we were in the area.

Room Tip: Get a "spa" room, we had room 255 and it was very quiet (the furthest away from reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    223
    97
    46
    22
See reviews for
179
427
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel has the old charm of luzury estate Manor and the modern style too on 19 acres of land. It is a high quailty hotel. The rooms were amazing. The spa was wonderful. The food was fantastic. The chefs sure know how to do fine dinning. The brealfast was huge with such variety. The staff were all so friendly. You must try the thermal suite so bring your bathing suit. I highly recommend this hotel. Maria

Room Tip: bring bathing suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

On a 2 night stay at the maryborough hotel in cork which included dinner for two. Had to wait nearly 50 minutes for our main course to arrive.went back to our room to watch a movie, spent 10 minutes trying to get through to reception to tell them that the movies are unavailable. They informed us that the movies will be available tomorrow morning. We're now in our room playing cards with our 10 year old son. Not exactly 4 star..........

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location. Despite being close to the motorway and a short drive from Cork city centre, it has a rural aspect as a result of nice gardens surrounded by tall trees. Our room was a good size, well furnished and very clean. This could have been a negative review as we had two problems with the accommodation but the staff went to such lengths to solve these in a very friendly way that I can only be positive. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was really good with a range of freshly cooked dishes to choose from (not the now normal self service offering sausages, bacon, etc).

Room Tip: Some rooms at back are noisy as they are over what I presume is a generator of some sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We attended a wedding (our son's) at the Maryborough and boy it was the best wedding I've ever been to. The rooms are superb, their organisation and timings are great and the food is exceptional. If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue then go and see them.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the facilities in the spa are great.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

In our almost 3-week trip to Ireland, this was the fanciest hotel we stayed in. Our room, Room 219, had a balcony, but unfortunately, it rained the whole time we were there so we weren't able to enjoy it. The main entrance to the registration desk was at the top of a flight of stairs, so it wasn't fun dragging our suitcases up to check in. When we checked out, we found a different entrance that we could access by lift. There were no signs outside directing us from the parking lot to this entrance. The hotel is actually in Douglas, a "suburb" of Cork, not far from the airport. The wait staff in the bar area were very friendly, introducing themselves by name and addressing us by name as well. The breakfast (included) was satisfactory, but nothing special.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Bar and restaurant menu more or less the same. Choices of main courses not great on either menu with extra charge for side dishes. Temperature in pool and pool area very cold - left after approx. 10 mins.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm and enjoy our outdoor games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.