We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel v happy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochestown Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rochestown Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochestown Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rochestown Road, Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Douglas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in Cork
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel v happy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We are a young couple, we just stayed 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Hotel is a ten minute walk from Douglas town centre. You can then take a bus to cork for €1.70. Good location and nice hotel. Beside shopping centre. Leisure and beauty excellent.
Hotel was a bit cold, u needed to put on heat controls before left the room.
Ideal for anyone wishing to explore cork.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear 57GalwayGirl,

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the Rochestwon Park Hotel, Our location for exploring Cork City and County is really second to none. Just a few short minutes to the city centre or the South link road for regional attractions.

I hope we have the pleasure of your company once more in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    206
    122
    47
    41
See reviews for
203
264
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had my wedding reception in the RPH about a month ago and it was a wonderful experience. Starting from the great help and advice we received from management organising the wedding, to the atmosphere and setting of the hotel and it's decor, to the amazing food and friendly efficient staff; the whole day went off like a dream. This was a direct result of the experience and dedication of the whole staff of the Rochestown Park Hotel and I would heartily recommend it to anyone planning a wedding in the Cork area. Thanks again, Ronan, and all the lovely staff at the RPH. See you next year for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Cormac S.

Thank you for such an amazing review, we are trilled that you have had such a brilliant experience, and I know that Ronan was most pleased to have recieved such kind recogination.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary, and we wish you all the best for your lives together.

Kind Regards,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Co, Wexford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We are just back from a break in the hotel and we found it very good, the food in the bistro was excellent and the staff very profesional and helpful, mostly Katie in reception couldn't do more to make our stay better. The leisure center was good. I agree with Achillislandmayo that the sign at the entrance is hard to see, and also the lighting was very dim, but overall the hotel is quite good and very clean. the minifridge was a bonus!

Room Tip: We were in a triple room that was quiet and roomy enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mercedes R,

Thank you for making the effort to share such a wonderful feedback. I know Katie was delighted to read your review and very much appreciates your kind recogination.

Currently we are redesigning our enternace signage and lighting and I hope to have this finalized and in place over the coming weeks.

With kind regards,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here on the 26th October 2012 The hotel itself is very pretty and big!!!!!
We booked it through booking .com and got a really good deal.
Room.
We had a fantastic room on the 3rd floor that had all that you would expect from a hotel of this standard. It had some really lovely touches like the mood lighting in the bedroom and the shower with side wall jets.
Staff.
All the staff were so so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much and they went out of there way to sort things out for me. So thank you.
Reason for stay.
We attened a wedding there and all the little touches were very cute. The meal was very fresh and of a high standard.
The only thing that i must say is the frustration i had around trying to find your way about the hotel as the room posts are not very clear so at one stage we spent 15 minutes and three different lifts later attempting to get from the function room to our bedroom.
Overall hotel did appear to have alot to offer but due to nature of the reason for our saty we didn't get the opportunity to sample it all. Next time!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Rochestown Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear nightsawayinhotels,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of our hotel. I can appreciate your feedback on the shear scale of the property, as this, at times can be a little confusing for first time visitors.

We would be delighted to welcome you back once again upon your next trip to Cork.

Warm Regards,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rep of Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I are just back from a break in The Rochestown Park. It's a large but very comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff, air conditioned bedrooms, free WIFI and a popular leisure centre.We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. It's great to have gluten free bread and coeliac friendly options available on the menu. Location is about 15 mins drive from Cork City.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor as noise from the carpark and a very busy motorway can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here 24th & 25th September when attendindg a conference in the hotel and was extremely disappointed. Initially we struggled to get in to the hotel as it is so poorly signposted with the name at entrance being covered by bushes, then very poor directions to where reception is - we went to entrance of spa first, then conference centre before walking extensively through conference and business centre before eventually finding reception which was upstairs. The room was a massive dissapointment - not at all what I expected given the very contemporary decor in reception. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and the fact that the extractor fan in the bathrooom could not be turned off made sleeping virtually impossible for me, as I am a very light sleeper. Also, I find that having the base of the bed on show (i.e. with no valance) makes the room look cheap. No care was taken in making the bed, as the bottom sheet was extremely crumpled and on the 2nd day of stay it was as if the cover was just pulled up, rather than the bed having been made. Breakfast was another disappointment - no menu card to advise what is available. The fruit, yoghurt, cereal & pastries were fine but the cooked breakfast was mass produced, in bain-maries with a chef serving you the usual bacon, sausages, egg, tomato, beans, mushrooms, hash brows. I was expecting that to have Eggs Benedict or Pancakes as a choice in what is advertised as a 4 star hotel. I didn't use the pool gym or spa so can't comment. Food in Suttons Bistro on the night of our arrival was fine but nothing special. The best thing about this hotel is undoubtedly its staff who were very friendly & helpful, The conference centre is fantastic too - well done in relation to this aspect of the businesss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be great, but I found it frustrating. Our room was adequate for our 2 night stay, but has only a small wardrobe with 5 hangers and absolutely NO drawer space. The lighting in the bedroom was grim and we spent our stay stumbling around in semi-darkness. Apparently, there is mood lighting, but we couldn't work out how to use it, but maybe we were luckier than our friends who couldn't switch theirs off and had to sleep bathed in coloured lights. We did have a comfy bed and plenty of electrical sockets, and a decent, well-lit bathroom, but this is not a hotel I would choose for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochestown Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Park Hotel

Address: Rochestown Road, Douglas, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rochestown Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochestown Park Hotel enjoys a luxurious new look after completing an €18 million refurbishment and redevelopment in Oct ’08. An exquisite 4-star hotel with 149 bedrooms and 8 Executive Town Houses. It’s home to Ireland's premier Thalasso Therapy Centre and Beauty Salon as well as an award winning Health and Leisure Centre. The Gallery Restaurant provides guests with a unique dining experience of local produce combined with confident creativity. Suttons Bar and Bistro is fast becoming the place to be seen in Cork with a chic interior design and quirky menu. Situated in the suburbs, walking distance to Douglas village and within 4.5km of the City Centre and 2 km to Cork International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Rochestown Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Park Cork
Hotel Rochestown Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochestown Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.