We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite pub in ALL ireland on my trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas

South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas
Douglas | Douglas Village, Cork, Ireland
+353 21 489 1574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 451 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Good value Food, drinks and IRISH MUSIC is what makes the South County Bar & café, Douglas a must when visiting Cork. Douglas village is a short taxi ride(3 miles) from Cork city and the South County is within walking distance of local hotels The Maryborogh House & Rochestown Park Hotel(both 10 mins walk). This award winning Irish pub has an old world feel, has a cosy snug and a wonderful outdoor area, 'The Guinness beer Garden'. IRISH MUSIC sessions throughout the year...Every Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday nights aswell as a fun sing-along ballad session every Sunday at 6pm. This pub also boasts a large selection of Irish whiskies in the Whiskey corner and serves the tastiest Irish coffee around !!
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Favorite pub in ALL ireland on my trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went into pubs almost every night I was in Ireland. I did a bit of pub crawling in the major cities I visited, including Dublin and Gallway. My 2 friends and I popped in for dinner, had a standard Cheesburger and Carlsberg and found they were going to have traditional irish music later in the evening. So we came back later around 9 pm and were greeted with a cadre of young talented musicians. Everyone we met in the bar was nice, and I felt it was a great place to meet local, hard working Irishman and women. Its a beautiful interior, a real departure from the crap I'm used to here in the states, and it made me a bit envious that I wouldn't be coming home to such a chill place here stateside. It was by far, my favorite pub experience in Ireland (I went around the entire country) next to the literary pub crawl I did in Dublin.

Highly recommend for an authentic, relaxed, funny, enjoyable time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Real pub real atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a traditional style pub which serves good food and good crack and has a really good outdoor area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“It's a pub, a real pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

In my travels around Douglas it was hard to find a pub. I came across this place that was deceptive from the outside . I have been to a lot of pubs but this is by far my favourite the staff the food all ooze excellence . I would highly recommend this pub .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Onion Rings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's your usual bar food; steaks, burgers, salads, pasta but homemade and the quality is excellent. Having recently moved to the area, it is now my local pub and even though I don't usually eat in bars (the TVs and smell usually out me off) I happily make an exception for this place. The staff are very accommodating and will always find you a table. I have eaten there twice and each time had the chicken burger. It is a very pleasant surprise to get a grilled butterflied chicken breast marinaded in a mildly spicy sauce in the burger. I was expecting a breaded “chicken” patty but this was the tastiest burger I have ever had.
Now, the onion rings. I have a weakness for onion rings and these do not disappoint. They are rings of fresh onion (funnily enough) breaded and fried. They are homemade and delicious! Finish that off with a homemade dessert and you’re ready to roll out the door.
The facilities are excellent, spotless toilets and a large and airy beer garden. Good food, reasonable prices and great staff; what more could you ask for?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent bar and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I have popped in to the South County a few times with my girlfriend and it's great food with great staff.
Im living local and def see it as the best food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomandcolm, Owner at South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks DH for the deadly review :). We're delighted that you enjoyed the food at the South County. As you live locally, why not drop by on a Sunday evening for our weekly ballad session. We just started our Summer Sunday BBQ in the beer garden where we serve a great 1/2 pound burger from 5.30-7pm - A great way to finish off your week-end...see you soon.
Tom O'Connor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas also viewed

 

Been to South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South County Bar and Cafe - Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.