We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel with nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cork

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Cork
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel with nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a nice three days stay here while visiting family. Lovely bright room, staff were friendly and helpful. Early bird eveining meal was really tasty. Hotel is central and is handy for visiting Cork and only few mins to get there. Unfortunately, couldn't give it excellent because my husband found the bed very uncomfortable and didn't sleep very well. However, this hotel is very good value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Kordiun,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry your husband found your bed uncomfortable. I am delighted to note that you found the team helpful and friendly, found the early bird menu really tasty and found your stay good value.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    236
    148
    103
    69
See reviews for
158
244
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here one night; two rooms for our family of five. We had been traveling all day and we recieved a warm welcome at reception. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There should have been more lights in our room. One lamp had a bulb missing. The bathroom in our room was nicely updated. We easily walked to downtown Cork for dinner. There was a nice bar/pub near the hotel lobby that was very busy in the evening with big screen TVs shoiwing soccer - this was fun. There was a pool and fitness room but we did not use either. Pool hours were limited.

We enjoyed the hotel breakfast in the morning. Food was very good; options were a bit limited. Parking was very tight, but adequate and free. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Matt_in_Minn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and received a warm welcome on arrival. Thank you for your kind comments on your rooms, our bar and the food. I am glad you enjoyed the soccer game on our big screen.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stay one night each year for christmas shoping.Friendly and efficent staff and its central location make it an ideal place with its close proximity to the main shoping area, which we return to year after year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear mary m,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your repeat business. Cork is a great city for shopping. Thank you very much for your kind comments on our location and the team.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A few members fo the family had reason to gather in cork. The Maldron at the old North Infirmary would not have been an obvious choice, it seems a bit away from the city and there was a bit of hill up to it. GET OVER IT! Its about 5 minutes walk to the opera house, crawford gallery and patrick street. The price was excellent, the hotel was fine, my only moan is about the lack of parking at the hotel. However, overnight parking at Carroll Quay was very reasonably priced (10 euro for Maldron residents for 24 hours).
Overall excellent value. And it is in the old part of Cork City.....I only discovered its great history by staying here and I am a Corkonian.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to be located in the fabulous Shandon historic quarter with loads to see and do in the area. The hotel itself was originally built in 1720 and is steeped in history.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on our location and the value you received.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for a weekend in the maldron hotel.Great hotel found it very reasonably priced.Staff are very friendly and nothing to much trouble.Rooms were very comfortable.Hotel parking was free with free internet which was great,The leisure facilities and swimming pool are great and breakfast was very good and served untill 11.am.

Room Tip: room 404 lovely big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear nico s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. 404 has some nice views of the city. I am delighted to read that you got to make use of our leisure facilities and enjoyed our late breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCJulie
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel was a great value and there was nothing really wrong with it, but I'd rather pay a little more and have a nicer hotel closer to downtown. You had to walk down a hill, and a across a bridge to get to the town and the walk as a little sketchy. One desk employee was friendly but the other one was pretty unfriendly. This was my least favorite (and to be fair, least expensive) hotel on my one week trip. Not terrible, but I'd go elsewhere if I went to Cork again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear NYCJulie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am sorry to note you would stay somewhere else on a return visit to Cork. Our location is a 3 minute well lit stroll to Patrick Street. I am glad to note that you found us good value.

Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed one night on business trip. Convenient for the town centre where there are loads of pubs and restaurants. Good value, staff were friendly and engaging.

Car parking, like most city centre hotels, is tight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Neil R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your positive feedback on our location, the value and the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork City.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cork

Address: John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Cork 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hotels in Cork City, The Maldron Hotel Cork City is found in the heart of Corks historic cultural quarter, nestled by the famous Shandon Bells and on the doorstep of Cork newest premier shopping district, Opera Lane and Corks main thoroughfare St Patrick's Street. With superb accommodation, excellent dining and full leisure facilities in Club Vitae Health Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors. Nestled beneath the Shandon Bells in Cork city centre and only a 5 minute walk from Patrick Street, Cork’s main, vibrant thoroughfare. With superb rooms, excellent food and full leisure facilities in the Club Vitae Health and Fitness Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cork Maldron Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.