We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a really nice hotel in a great location. It's just near Shandon Church and a short walk from the busy restaurant and pub areas around Paul St and Patrick Street. The room we had was very comfortable and clean and had a great view over Shandon and the graveyard. The one downside was the lack of parking (we ended up parking on the street) but I believe the hotel has an agreement with a multistorey carpark in the area. I would have knocked a star off for the parking but the staff were so nice and couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear seainin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and am particularly appreciative of your feedback on the team. Yes we do have a discounted rate with a local multi story car park which is a 3 minute walk from the hotel for when our complimentary car parks are full.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    256
    178
    116
    80
See reviews for
174
274
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent location, right in the middle of the city, so it was perfect for exploring the city on foot. Showers in the changing room for the pool need to be re-done/updated. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear AoifeOAoife,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed our location and found the team friendly and helpful. I have passed on your feedback regarding the showers to our maintenance department to follow up.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Of all the hotels I stayed in in Ireland, this one was perhaps my favorite. Tucked into the urbanized foothills of the densely packed River Lee valley, the Cork Maldron feels a bit like a castle. It's broad lobby entrance and labyrinthian halls and stairs make it fun just to walk around. Our room had a great view over downtown--I just stared out there for a while, more than once. Of course, all the amenities were elegant and modern, but with an appearance of another age. The location is perfect for exploring Cork, the price is reasonably good, and the staff are--like most Irish--impeccably kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was terrific too.

Room Tip: higher up, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear adamthornsmith,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your very descriptive review. We are indeed very lucky with some of the fabulous views we have from some of our rooms. Thank you for your kind comments on the team, our location and breakfast.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and myself recently stayed for two nights at the Maldron Hotel in Cork for our 10th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and genuinely friendly. The leisure facilities and swimming pool are great for a city centre hotel and the breakfast was perfect and even served until 10.30am, which was very handy. Great central location, only a very short walk across the river to the main shopping area of the city. Would recommend a visit and we will definitely be back soon!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one that faces the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Navanman1976,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you chose our hotel to celebrate your 10th anniversary. Thank you for your kind comments on the team, our leisure club, breakfast and our location.

Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is located in a converted infirmary.
We arrived late in the evening at about 10.00pm to find the room service was closed.
The lighting in reception and in the entrance hall was so gloomy i had to check if i had left my sun glasses on by mistake.
In the lift there was a sign asking us to be patient while renovation works being undertaken in the hotel. We saw no evidence of renovation works which are badly needed.
The lift was FLINTSTONE MK1 MODEL. It ratteled so much that the door nearly fell off every time we used it. The floor of the lift looked like it had never been cleaned. Despite being on the 5th. floor on one lift we were on the 3rd. floor for the other lift.
In our bedroom the window was about 1.5m over the floor level so it was difficult to see out, which made the room unattractive.
The collection of furniture in the room was bizarre. A table which blocked the doorway into the adjoining room, .an unusable wardrobe etc. They looked like they came from a car boot sale.
The bathroom was poor with broken tiles and the panel falling off the side of the basin.

There were some good qualities.
The bed was comfortable.
The staff in reception were able to respond to all our demanding questions.
Breakfast in the Conservatory was enjoyable.
We did get off street car parking.
Dinner in the bell bar was delivered in 10 minutes despite being advised that it cound take 25 minutes.
The bar staff were pleasant including the man from Kerry.
This is one of the best located hotels in the City- only a 5 minute walk from the Opera House.

Room Tip: Avoid room 516.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear SeeburgDL,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed our location, found the bed comfortable, breakfast enjoyable, and the bar staff pleasant. I am also glad to note that the refurbishment work being carried out did not disturb your stay.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

nice family hotel pleasent and helpful staff no promblems will stay there again when traveling down to cork if i had one promlem it would be that the car park is very small but that is only minor bar is nice with a nice selection of food and the price of cider is reasonable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear SlapsReville,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel pleasant with helpful staff. Thank you for your kind comments on the food and cider.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in the Maldron last week for a short family break before the kids went back to school. A real treat! The hotel is in a fabulous location just a few minutes walk from Patrick street. My daughter loved the arts and craft evening at the kids club. The staff at this hotel are 5 stars all the way, from reception to the bar and restaurant. dinner was exceptional as was breakfast (self service buffet) fine leisure club as well, with a pool and kids pool. Loads to do and see in Cork from shopping, Fota wildlife park and Cork city goal being our favorites. Can't wait to go back and have recommended to my friends and family. Thank you Maldron!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear oshers,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I welcome your kind feedback which is incredibly encouraging and greatly appreciated! All feedback is shared with the team. Thank you for your kinds comments on our location, the kids club, the team, the food and our leisure club. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends and family.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future to the Maldron Hotel Cork.


Yours sincerely,


Michael Lally
General Manager
mlally@maldronhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cork

Address: John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hotels in Cork City, The newly refurbished Maldron Hotel Cork is found in the heart of Corks historic cultural quarter, nestled by the famous Shandon Bells and on the doorstep of Cork newest premier shopping district, Opera Lane and Corks main thoroughfare St Patrick's Street. With superb accommodation, excellent dining and full leisure facilities in Club Vitae Health Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cork Maldron Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.