We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bru Bar and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bru Bar and Hostel to your Saves list
Bru Bar and Hostel
57 MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Carleton Place, ON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location is really good, not far from the bus or train station. The atmosphere is great and a bar right there. The staff are really friendly and the hostel is very clean. With the shower you need to keep pressing the button to keep the water flowing but I've seen this in other hostels as well. It helps to conserve water. I really liked this hostel and would return again. The 6 bed dorm is a little squishy but works.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    42
    20
    18
See reviews for
2
13
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Good location, not far from the train station and close to the bus pickup for the CitiLink. I was pleased with this hostel. My only complaint was that the shower temperature could not be adjusted or turned on. There was a button to push on the wall and only spurted water for a few moments. I had to keep pushing the button over and over to keep the water going and it was hot! I guess it was set up like those faucets in the sinks where it has an automatic shut off.
I read all the reviews before staying at this hostel and was hesitant by the negative ones, but took a chance and was glad I did. Except for the shower situation, I thought the hostel was a good deal. I had a room to myself the first night, which was great. It was a tiny room and if anyone else had checked in with bags I don't know how we would have fit. I would stay again most likely because it is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wat
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

By reading all the reviews im shocked. This place is a HOSTEL..not a hotel.What are people expecting for 16 euro a night?? I think this place is great value and the location is excellent. We had a private room for 3 people and although the room was small,we didnt mind. People dont stay in hostels to stay in the room all day.its for sleeping.All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and i would definitely stay here again.

One thing i would say is maybe have better drink deals in the bar :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

If I'd be able to leave 0.5 stars, I would do that. I've never ever seen such an awful hostel in my life. I didn't manage to book a dorm but a private double bedroom as I usually do. There's not even space for storage luggage! I'm writing straight from the hostel, as I couldn't wait to share my thoughts about such a disgusting place. Service is very poor, we had to pay 10 euro for 2 cheap towels, wifi signal is very weak in the room and the hostel is in a very poor condition overall. Not quiet at all. I don't know how the breakfast could be, but you can imagine what my expectations are. Luckly I'm going to stay here only for 1 night. AVOID COMPLETELY and don't pay any attention to "excellent" or "good" reviews, they're definitely manipulated. No one would give this place more than 2 stars. And the price: 60 euro per night, not cheap at all (excluding towels fee)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Was checked in by drunkest man we've ever spoken to; this was the highlight of the hostel.

Room Tip: sure: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is probably the closest of all hostels to the city centre and is located over a bar run by same owners.
Rooms: very cramped - however there are some larger rooms for which you will be charged a bit more.
Breakfast room was fine.
The bar is great craic all out - often used to drink here when I lived in the area. The suggestion that the place is full of ladies of the night is very suspicious as this is neither an area or bar known for this - think about it - its a hostel geared at people on low budgets so not much business for such folk.
There is no parking but there is car parking in several places nearby including the train station car park which is inexpensive but very busy.
Didn't have a problem with noise.

Handy place if you want to stay in town but don't want to spend much. Its also very friendly and the bar is good fun.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room if you don't like being cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I am a USA Physician working and living in Cork now. I came here because I was told it was a safe clean place to stay. I told them when I checked in that I needed to stay two or more weeks as my flat got flooded out - they told me no problem, I could stay as long as I wanted. They gave me a good weekly rate. I drink VERY LITTLE alcohol, but I made the MISTAKE (I guess) that I took my own beer one day from the refrigerator downstairs to the bar. I thought nothing about it and no one said anything. The place usually has two or three girls inside that are OBVIOUS prostitutes, and I did tell a few of them that I wasn't interested. I NEVER caused any trouble, I did buy drinks several times while staying there for myself and friends on weekends when I wasn't working, so it's not like they didn't make any money off of me. One day, the "boss" came into my room and said "You have to get out right now, there have been complaints about you"! I asked him what in the world he was talking about and the coward refused to tell me anything else, he basically just said get out right now, I had to pack quickly and was basically thrown out to the sidewalk! The worst part, was that this scum bag, coward "boss" called other hostels and I couldn't find another hostel to stay in ANYWHERE in town!! I had to go stay in a B&B that cost me 5 times as much - luckily I could afford it! These people are the lowest scum of the earth and if they did this to a quiet physician who was mostly at work, God help anyone else! Don't stay there, even though the prices are good, the breakfast is not breakfast, just a bunch of bread and cereals thrown out on a table, the rooms are tiny, feel like prison cells and the ugly prostitutes that are in the bar every day are a real turn-off. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there, you are better off sleeping on the sidewalk. Too noisy, no privacy, the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruhostel, Owner at Bru Bar and Hostel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bru Bar and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bru Bar and Hostel

Address: 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Brú Hostel, we pride ourselves on ensuring that a consistently high standard is maintained. A team of house keepers ensure that every inch of the hostel is maintained in a pristine condition. The least any hostel can provide is a comfortable bed and clean sheets but in addition, we also provide: * FREE high-speed Internet access/ WiFi * FREE breakfast * FREE bicycle storage * FREE luggage storage * Laundry service for €5! (Cheapest in Ireland) * Card phones * TV / DVD room * 10% discounts at various restaurants * 10% discounts at the major tourist attractions with Bru room key! * Discounted entry into Corks Top Nightclubs.We also have a full Bar/Pub check out our web page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bru Bar and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru Bar and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.