We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel, well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Characterful hotel, well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Comfortable hotel with plenty of character. There is a good restaurant but staff were rather pressed by the influx of a large party and the service was not 4 star. Food is good and plentiful.
We had to ask for coffee at breakfast , it was brought quickly and served with a smile. Clean main rooms and bedrooms, some upholstery is tired and the room keys didn't work when we returned the second evening. There is a charge to use the fitness centre and pool. There is a night club in an adjacent side street(see hints)

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking Patrick Street as the night club has taxis arriving up to 3am. Because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sue633,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently.

We will take your comments on board as it is through this guest feedback that we can continue to improve on the overall hotel operations and standards in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel the next time you are in Cork.

Best regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    333
    149
    87
    36
See reviews for
146
439
49
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Staff, Hotel and facilities are excellent. The Hotel Restaurant is also excellent. The inclusive Old English Market Lunch is also a real treat. The secure parking is close by. We will certainly return to this hotel in the near future. The manner of all the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Delux Room which was perfect for our weekend stay at Cork. The room layout and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Gerard C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel while in Cork recently.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the "Imperial Experience Package" with us, especially lunch in the Farmgate Restaurant in the English market.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall pleasant stay had no complaints . Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was very central and had a lovely in house bar which stocked some very tasty whiskys lol......…...............................................................................................,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne o, Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sanjosepaup,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Imperial Hotel in Cork recently.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the selection of whiskeys on offer in South's Bar!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel.

Best regards,

Anne O'Leary
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I visited The Escape salon and spa with family and we all agreed we had an amazing and relaxing time. The staff were excellent and so were the facilities. We enjoyed using the pool and steam rooms. The back and shoulder massage is definitely recommended. The relaxation room is very peaceful. Really good value and well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and thank you for your positive comments on Escape Spa and Hair Salon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff, perfect location. My only problem was that we were in a front room and it was very noisy as windows are only single glazing. Would stay here again but would ask for quiet room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

On your next visit we would be delighted to organise a room of your choice and we look forward to welcoming you back.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have just returned to west Wicklow from a four day visit to cork city. What a magnificent time we had , my 80 yr old mom snd I were so delighted with the imperial hotel from the moment we checked in till our sad departure . We had a beautiful room with heaps of floor space , clean bed linen of luxurious quality , a spotless clean bathroom and plenty of towels . A sofa , chair and table for relaxing to watch the rose of Tralee ;-)
Mostly the location was a godsend as we could walk back from a shopping trip to sit outside for a rest with a tea and coffee to then be able to stroll around the corner to do a little more shopping ! We had awesome food with impeccable service in the Pembroke rest , a wonderful lunch at the farmgate rest in the English market and a very informative walking tour of cork city which we loved . This was all included in our special price so we were very grateful for waiting till August and we are only wanting to go back for more ASAP . Thanks to all the lovely staff at the imperial for making my mother and I so very comfortable on our stay and we now wished we had stayed longer ... We will defiantly be returning to your lovely hotel , thank you , Mary and Celeste Metcalfe , ps I love cork city .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mary and Celeste,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed Cork city as it is a great city and we are very proud of it. Make sure to tell all your friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I cannot understand the positive reviews this hotel has been given. It has lovely reception area and does give the superficial appearance of offering quality and comfort. I understand that experience and appreciation is subjective but we had two days of misery in this hotel. Rooms booked were described as super executive and though the bathroom was excellent - spacious and newly furbished the room was of average size with no view whatsoever! It was over heated and despite having fan on and windows open the heat was unbearable! On the second evening noise a wedding (which we were not informed about on booking) went on until the early hours and a fight in the street outside kept us awake (and other guests) until 4.30 am. Food on the first evening was good and service friendly and considerate. On the second evening we were stuck in a corner (as parties had taken over the restaurant) and served by an over familiar waiter who thought by acting as a jester we would not realise we had been manipulated. When will people realise that is not desirable to dine whilst sitting on a sofa! We both ordered the same main course and mine was served in a bowl - my husband's on a plate (careless detail) Reception were not that concerned about the disturbance but I have to say were pleasant and well meaning(obviously so much is out of their control) . The car park is a good hike away. Lots more negative things to say but cannot be bothered - it was AWFUL!!!! Breakfast was average and we were so glad to get out of this hotel and city as it is the only disappointing experience we have had in this lovely country.

Room Tip: No comment - not interested in this hotel whatsoever and will NEVER go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.