We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in centre of Cork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in centre of Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a trip to visit family in Cork. Lucky to find a special break at this wonderful hotel. Right in the centre. Hotel check-out time is 12mday. I arrived 11am and asked at reception if I could leave my suitcase there until it was check-in time. Was told my room was all ready now and I could take it immediately. A lovely start. I had 2 dinners in the hotel and breakfast 3 mornings. Food very high quality, nicely presented and served graciously. Room maintenance standards very good though I could have done with better reading light in the bedroom. The hotel is Victorian with modernisation . There is a welcoming, non-ostentatious ambience. One felt quite at home there! Definetely I want to return. Highly recommended. Staff the management should be very proud of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and taking the time to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cork.

regards
Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    385
    165
    93
    40
See reviews for
179
509
53
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What can I say about the Imperial other than it is one of the best Hotels we, as a family have ever stayed in. The staff are excellent, friendly, accommodating and always remember your previous visit. We take a good few breaks during the year and when we are deciding , The Imperial is always top of our list starting off. More often than not we have to convince the kids it would be a nice change to go somewhere else :-)The rooms are spacious, warm and quiet.

The food is beautiful both in the restaurant and the bistro. The breakfast is exceptional with both the cold and hot buffet. You never leave the hotel hungry or disappointed. With easy access to all the main shopping areas, it is nice to be able walk to and return from them without being stuck in traffic for ages.

There is a totally relaxing feel to the hotel, whether it be in the foyer, the restaurant or the bar. You will always get an hello from any passing member of staff and even a little chat , if they not too busy.

The only fault with this Hotel is no onsite parking. It can;t be helped as its in the middle of town. The assigned car Park is about 5 mins walk away, not too bad if you are not alone and returning at night...I have walked back at night, alone and it was fine but some people might find this uncomfortable
We are due a return visit very soon so looking forward to going back , probably in the New Year.

Room Tip: We have never had issues with any of the rooms we stayed in. We were at the front of the hotel many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you and the kids back in the New Year. Call me prior to your arrival so I can organise an upgrade to a very large family room.

regards
Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have stayed several times with Tours and standard and service Excellent. Will be returning again and again. The staff are very accommodating and will do all to help. The food at breakfast was marvellous. We can't say enough about the staff - Excellent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in May for a quick stop to Cork. Nice, old-style hotel and nicely laid out room. The only negative was the off-site car park as many have mentioned. It's at least a 5 minute stroll from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for only one night as part of a business function. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the ballroom where we had the function was beautiful and the food was excellent. The rooms are a great size, and the hotel is close to the city centre, within easy walking distance of Kent Station and all the local shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent one night in the bustling city of Cork and that night was spent at the Imperial Hotel. It is located very close to the city center within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the English Market.
This is an old hotel replete with Victorian style finishes. The lobby is elegant, flanked on both sides by spots for having a light meal or a drink. Getting to the rooms can be a bit confusing. In our group of seven, we were directed to three different elevators. It seemed that there was no way to get from one room to another without first descending to the lobby and then getting on another lift. A minor inconvenience at most.
I loved our bathroom! Walls of white subway tiles, a huge pedestal sink, and a fantastic shower. Lots of plush white towels too.
I guess because this is an old building, there were a couple of "spongy" areas in the floors. In our room, there were areas where there was a decided "give" under the carpet, and in other areas of the hotel these were present as well. Again, there was nothing of concern with these spots, but it was a bit disconcerting.
Breakfast, which was included in the price of our room, was ample and delicious. Lots of choices for hot and cold dishes, fresh fruit, and very good coffee.
My only negative is that there was a lot of street noise, particularly from a couple of drunken pub goers who started singing very loudly at around 2 am. Even with the windows closed, their songs came through loud and clear!
All in all, The Imperial provided a lovely spot to spend some time in Cork.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had great break in the imperial.First night very noisy,informed staff,were moved straight away,great deal-breakfast great,had lunch in the english market as part of package,pus had wash and blow dry in salon,what more could you ask fore.Went to everyman theatre, and cork art centre for two excellent plays.Will be back to the imperial,marie

Room Tip: Ask for room in quiet part of hotel if you are not a party animal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.