We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Cork
Galway
2 reviews
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed in the Imperial Hotel again last week while back in Cork on business. It is a very charming hotel with excellent customer service throughout. I opted for bar food on both nights as I wasnt in the mood for dinning in the restaurant. I was very impressed with standard of food, service was excellent and I found the bar staff very professional at all times. I stayed in one of the newly decorated rooms overlooking the SouthMall which was very nice and ideal for my 2 nights. I will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cork.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    282
    118
    74
    32
See reviews for
125
358
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Travelled to cork recently for half term break and booked into the imperial as it was central and offered car parking. We were placed in a room at the front of the hotel.Once in our room we discovered that the sofa bed was broken, the sink in the bathroom was not attached to the wall and the strobe lighting on the front, flashed round by our room every few minutes- not exactly what you need when travelling with small children. We asked to be moved and someone did come up to see what the problem was- but it was not one of the management staff but a young member of housekeeping who agreed that the room wasn't suitable. Three hours later and after our meal we returned to find that although our room had been changed our bags had not and the room which was supposed to have been "cleaned" smelt of smoke and had someone elses t -shirt draped over the open window with used matchsticks on the window legde. Passed comment to concierge/porter who moved over our bags eventually and heard no more. All seemed to go smoothly until 11 pm when the bar across from us had a live band in and played loud music until 2am (luckly children did not waken). Was woken again at 6 am when the bottles were being picked up (on both mornings). On checkout staff were not pleasant and both myself and my husband were glad to be leaving. I have stayed in several hotels and have definately stayed in far superior 3 star hotels. My impression upon leaving is that the only reason that they are a four star is because of the "spa" attached.As for the car parking it is a little distance away and unless you have sat nav- good luck. I found that they really need to address the location of their family room and needs to be totally revamped. All in all really spoilt what was supposed to be a nice few days away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialCork, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I apologise sincerely with our shortcomings during your stay and will be contacting you personnally to make ammends. This combination of errors should not have happened.

regards

Joe Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Imperial Hotel-Cork
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid-September, 2012
as part of a large tour group. Accordingly, I am unable comment on the cost.
The staff was excellent- helpful, warm & friendly.
The hotel itself is an older building having a nice lobby
with an adjoining dining room, pub and several sitting areas.
These as well as several other areas-stairway/hallways-
would have benefited from some 'sprucing up' but were clean & welcoming.
Our room was typical for an older city hotel-smallish by today's
standards with a comfortable double bed, tv, coffee/tea maker, armoire
with hangers/ shelves,iron, and writing desk.
Bath was clean, had no face cloths which is typical for Europe.
Plenty of hot water. Nice towels. Breakfast (buffet) & dinner,
which were included in the tour price, were IMHO better than average 'group food'.
The manager seemed to be present, not only overseeing but also
very actively participating in all aspects of the operation.
We would return.

Room Tip: We were told rooms on the front (street) we noisy which made sleeping difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The only thing going for this hotel is its great location. But if you want good service and friendly staff you will Not find them here!!! This hotel needs to give their staff more training on how to deal with customers . The bar staff are terrible and rude. And it just ruined the whole stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights after booking very minute (we booked on the morning we checked in, after deciding to move from another hotel). The main reason we moved was we wanted to be closer to the city centre. From that point of view, this is a brilliant location with everything within a 5 minute walk (shops, tourist office, bust stop, restaurants). Despite the late booking, we got rooms at a reasonable rate.

The hotel has old-school charm, which is evident throughout. The rooms were large, but some of the furnishing could do with updating. Very friendly service from the reception to the restaurant / cafe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were helped by the Tourist Bureau, and their advice was perfect. The Imperial was right in middle of the city, which we wanted. What made this visit so special were the Staff at The Imperial. They were friendly, helpful. Amazing customer service. We came in after a show one evening and asked if they just do desert. They did even though they don't!

It's so nice when you are travelling for the staff to be so friendly and relaxed...makes it feel like home not a hotel.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get an Autumn Special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cork is a lovely city, with friendly people, speaking with their almost unique accent (hints of Welsh, maybe Swedish lilts). The Imperial is a blast from the past - a lovely old hotel in the heart of the city. Take it for what it is - refurbishment is very possible, and could go in many directions, but why? Take it for what it is - old and beautiful. It is comfortable, has good food, excellent drinks, airy rooms that are still warm and well appointed. Wifi works throughout, tv is adequate, room service, if you wish, paper (Irish Examiner, known in Cork as "De paper") every morning, (almost). Staff friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.
Good food in the restaurant, breakfast, fresh, Irish and generous. Dinner, good, especially if you like fish.
On the downside, car parking is awkward, being some distance away. No views to speak of, but your in the heart of things a few paces from the hotel.

Room Tip: The high ceilinged rooms mainly on the 1st Floor (USA friends = 2nd floor). There are one or two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#9 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.