We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Village

East Village
Douglas | Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 21 4367000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 493 Restaurants in Cork
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Our first impressions of the upstairs restaurant was shabby. Tired decor, damaged seating, worn tables, dirty menus. The staff were enthusiastic but the quality of service was haphazard - individuals doing their best but poorly organised.

The food was surprisingly good but some of the mains highly priced; white wine not chilled enough for currants heat wave.

So what did we think - not sure - might try again sometime but won't be rushing back.

Shame as it is in a great spot and the food was good. All negatives solvedby a bit of effort.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    37
    23
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Alot to offer ........ staff member let them down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Six of us had dinner recently on a relatively quiet Monday night. All six of us delighted with what we got..... good quality and didn't mind paying that extra bit for good food. Unfortunately, we had an argument among ourselves about leaving a tip. We had to convince one of party not to tip because she didn't deserve it. She did her job with the exception of forgetting a starter, but she became a talking point for all the wrong reasons. Never smiled or engaged with any one if us... very disappointing. Most of us happen to be in the same business and would not have that girl working for us..... potentially very damaging. Honestly, we will probably give you another chance but you have been warned... be sure your staff know that they leave their issues at the door before they start work.....pretty basic !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Early Bird and Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Early Bird is great here and the staff are friendly and efficient. Get in before the match crowd any evening and eat in the bar. Restaurant isn't as good at all and the service for some reason is slower than in the bar.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a family meal (2 adults 3 kids). Nice looking resturant. Staff were friendly. We had a young toddler with us so we were seated in nice quiet corner which was perfect for us. When we ordered our baby bowl turned up first so that was a big thumbs up. We had wings as a starter, that was good as my other kids and wife shared. Mains for kids is usual burger, pasta. I do think kids burger could be made more kid friendly (smaller). My mains were ribs and were ok. I think food is over priced for what you get. I would eat here again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for the times we are in!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went there on a Saturday night & as the night went on it got busier & busier which meant our service became much slower. The girl serving us was lovely, very pleasant & helpful but there were too little waiting staff working for the number of guests & she was rushed off her feet. Our food was simply ok, poor vegetarian selection so I was very limited in what I could order z& when it did come it was very small. Husband had a quesadilla stater, €7.95 & it was very small, his 10oz sirloin was a better size but tough. Didn't end up getting a dessert, due to the slow service we couldn't as did not have the time after our main course plates were eventually cleared. Overall an 'ok' experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Village also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.