We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spike Island

Spike Island
Spike Island | Cork Habour, Cork, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 69 Attractions in Cork
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dungarvan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely day out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went with the family very interesting and enjoyed the trip out on the boat and the talk given by the tour guide.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitanicCobh, Guided Tour Creator and Operator at Spike Island, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to comment so positively on the guided tour. You should also be aware that the cost of your ticket helps contribute towards a licence fee that we pay that ultimately goes back to help with the maintenance of the island. Glad you enjoyed it !
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    7
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alot of history but need an actual cafe!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice place with a lot of history but on the unguided tour the stay was too long (from 12pm till 2.30). We thought we could get some lunch there at the 'cafe' but they did not have ANY food except crisps which were €1 a bag! So only got tea and crisps for lunch! Could easily be a great place for lunches but no thought has gone into it at all and there isn't enough on the island to stay for over two hours. Also the hike from the boat to the 'cafe' and prison was uphill and would be very hard for the elderly and children. Also there is only one toilet at the 'cafe' which is far from the boat and the rest of the island so people needing to use this again nearer the end of the visit would have to go all the way back to the 'cafe'! We (and another couple) couldn't wait to get off the island!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitanicCobh, guided Tour Creator and Operator at Spike Island, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we acknowledge your disappointment in just taking the ferry to the island. A consistent response that we get from people on the guided tour is that the island really comes alive when you learn about its intriguing heritage. Also people who take the tour and communicate with us beforehand are fully aware of the terrain and the limited facilities on the island. We would suggest that you consider a return but on the guided tour this time !! I believe it would change your view entirely.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wasted opportunity to make this something great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The place has loads of potential but failed miserably to impress. The tour guide lacked any of the charisma you would expect of a tour guide. His knowledge was limited and often wrong and was based on a book written by one of his colleagues. His "stories" were badly told and painful to listen to, by the end of the second stop all 3 in our group had lost interest.

The tour consisted of one old cell, the cafe or more like an old gymnasium with a kettle and a fridge, a modern cell and a coastal defence gun emplacement which the guide was totally unknowledgable about.

Given the history of the place there was so much potential for a great tour but it was a completely wasted opportunity!

Probably worth doing without the guide in good weather. Get the early ferry out and wander the island until the late ferry back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitanicCobh, Guided Tour Creator and Operator at Spike Island, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the tour and the Island. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment on the day. It is interesting to note that the guide that you mentioned has received many positive accolades from different visitors about his delivery of the tour. It was I who created the tour and it is entirely based on factual research which is outlined in my book 'Spike Island, saints, felons and famine', I am therefore pleased that a guide would have it with him for occasional reference. The level of information provided about the weapon is designed for a general public and it is understandable that some visitors may find it insufficient particularly if they have a previous knowledge of artillery. However please feel free to contact me about any further information you wish to have about the gun at info@titanic.ie
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Guided tour - super way to see the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Spike Island last Saturday and did the guided tour. Our boat trip to the Island was great, the sun was shining and Cobh looked spectacular. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny and interesting. He clearly had a genuine interest in the island. Our 12 year old and 9 year old boys enjoyed the trip too, so definitely a great way to spend an afternoon for a family with children of those ages. The guided tour is the way to go. I could imagine that the island might seem dull with little to offer if you travelled to it independently. There is a bit of an incline to the fortress, but worth it for the views!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitanicCobh, Guided Tour Creator and Operator at Spike Island, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive response to the guided tour. We are so happy that your party enjoyed Spike Island and you echo our own thoughts that the Guided tour is the only way to get a real appreciation of what the Island has to offer.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is a relatively newish historical tour of the Island. We went on the guided tour and were told all the history of the island from its begining. The buildings are in need of some major repairs but i think it would only be by more tourists interest and visiting this site that will probably allow this to have thousands of dollars
I also think the more stories told by families to the historians and guides who have a connection to the island will also make it informative. Enjoyed it anyway

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spike Island also viewed

Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Spike Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spike Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.