We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Vino
Calderwood Rd | East Village, Cork, Ireland
+353 21 4369844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 456 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Every time I go here I end end staying for hours and drinking more wine than planned, thats what a great atmosphere does, makes you want to stay and enjoy.Great background music( often overlooked!) And the food? Delish, the Il Vino Salad is recommended, a real treat.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I recently had dinner at El Vino in Douglas. The restaurant itself is quite intimate, but has a great atmosphere. The menu is essentially a dinner menu with a huge tapas influence so you can go for dinner or tapas or both!!!! It's probably the closest that I have tasted to a genuine spainish tapas menu.

We went for a range of tapas and had a great night, I'd recommend it

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ct. usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, could compete with anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The decorating was sophisticated and unusual. The food matched the decor. Excellent menu. I had a curry dish which was very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lovely food, comfortable atmosphere. We went with friends and enjoyed ours of food, drink and laughs. We were the last to leave and the staff was caring for us until the end - no rushing and refilling drinks, etc. The food is very good - loved the flatbread and the shrimp appetizer. Delicious desserts and good coffee.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very handy place...good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I love El Vino and often go there for a light bight or coffee and scones. It is just a very handy place to drop into on the way out of town. Food is good, but the menu is a bit limited. One downside is that for the last few visits the waitress was not very friendly. A smile....goes a long way.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vino also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to El Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.