We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banna Thai

Banna Thai
15 Maylor Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4251571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 456 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I love Thai food and this was good Thai food. The mixed platter is lovely, and leaves you wanting more. I followed up with a delicious massaman curry and a mixed pad thai. Staples in most Thai's but both done really well.

Attentive staff, a nice relaxed evening out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    42
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Discovered this in Ballincollig first before the one in townand I would say that the restaurant there is better than the one in Maylor St. . The dining room is nicer and the food is nicer too...I suppose it depands on the chef.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pity we didn't get the Thai Smiling Welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I shopped till I dropped in Cork and then made my way to Banna Thai for a much needed lunch. I was keen to show my sister this lovely restaurant. Unfortunately, we didn't know it closed at 3.30 p.m. after lunch and we arrived at 3.25 p.m. We were begrudgingly shown to a table and were informed that the kitchen closed at 3.30 p.m. One of the many charms of Thai people is their smile and their greeting of you. Such a pity it was lacking here. (I can understand the time constraint, but.........)
The food was outstanding. If you order spicy here, be warned, it'll be SPICY, just the way I like it. My sister had Chicken with chili and basil and I had Massaman Curry. Both were delicious.
We were never given the option of having dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ordered a takeaway meal for 6 adults and 4 children. It was good quality food, professionally prepared and packed. The entire group ate very well for around 60 euros. Friendly service which had the food ready at the time agreed. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food at very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Every time we come to Banna Thai the food is excellent , the service is adequate and the price is very good too which is not the norm I find in the cork these days!
Hopefully restaurants like these are more common in the future - good deals at an affordable price without the bells and whistles

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banna Thai also viewed

 

Been to Banna Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banna Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.