We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seasons at the Ambassador

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seasons at the Ambassador
Best Western Ambassador Hotel | Military Hill, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)
+353 214551996
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 451 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Montenotte
Description: Set in the imposing four-star Ambassador Hotel, Seasons is a smartly-turned-out and welcoming restaurant in the centre of the historic city of Cork. The contemporary dining room with its well-spaced tables and warm ambience serves a straightforward menu of international cuisine delivered with an Irish twist. After dinner, relax with a drink in the friendly surroundings of the Embassy Bar or enjoy the open fire and resident pianist in the elegant cocktail lounge.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were staying at the hotel and wanted dessert after returning from dinner. We ordered our desserts only to be told after ordering that one of the desserts we ordered was unavailable. The second dessert I chose was also unavailable. Ultimately, I settled for a brownie with cream. Sadly, it was quite dry and not very satisfying. I cannot speak for their dinner menu, but I can say you are better off not ordering dessert there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Factory farmed chicken and slow service - no thanks!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It took them nearly 20 minutes to tell me they didn't actually have the dish that I ordered off the tiny uninspiring menu and the waiter didn't know what free-range chicken was.
The steak was decent and the chips were perfect, but all in all was a disappointing experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value for tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a great place for straightforward food at a reasonable price. I ate there most days for 9 days and never repeated my choice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Evening dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had an excellent meal each night...no complaints.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dine in for Two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We dined in the restaraunt, which was quite busy. A plentiful selection available on the menu and a very good value four course set meal, which we chose to have. Even here the choice was plentiful. Despite being busy, the service was "paced" right for us, unhurried but attentive and professional. The food served hot as it should be, nicely presented, then a lovley Strawberry Mille Fieulle for dessert.
The wine list was priced sensibly and also good value. We look forward to "dining in" when we next return to the Ambassador Hotel.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons at the Ambassador also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Seasons at the Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasons at the Ambassador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.