We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch, great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmgate Restaurant

Farmgate Restaurant
The English Market, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4278134
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 440 restaurants in Cork
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a goat's cheese salad and it was delicious! The service is pretty good and the staff very attentive and nice. It is a pleasure eat in this place looking at the market's atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    91
    55
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, great quality and quaint surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend and I enjoyed a lovely lunch today in the Farmgate dining room. The lamb's liver was beautifully cooked with a large piece of bacon on the side. My friend had the homemade sausages and said they were delicious. My carrots and parsnips were well mashed and the jacket potatoes were very floury. I appreciated the gluten free bread. Lovely meal, reasonably priced. Quality food in the heart of the famous English market in Cork .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat While Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located on the upper floor of the Old English Market in Cork City Centre, this cafeteria offers quality food at a reasonable price including wine and beer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in as we were shopping for a quick bite. We had a small appetizer and dessert, both of which were very good. I do agree that the portions felt a little small considering how much we spent. But the location is great and if you can get a seat on the railing there is great people watching down below.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I decided to have my breakfast in Farmgate recently and, honestly speaking, I expected a lot more from a place located in the English Market. A LOT more. Will never come back there for a meal again.

I expected fresh, lovely smelling bread, fresh vegetables, fresh cheese and all that served on a nice plate with generous amount of garnishing served on a beautiful plate. What did I get?

A pricey (6.50 Euro) toast bread sandwich (made with some standard, white toast bread, wouldn't be surprised if it was from Tesco) with a tiny bit of goat cheese smeared unevenly on the toast (I opened the sandwich to check what's in there...), two beetroot slices with two slices of old cucumber on the plate. Honestly, I was completely disappointed. My boyfriend ordered a scone with mushrooms and it was literally a small scone with 3 mushrooms in it. And paying almost 4 Euro for a tiny glass of juice (4 sips!) is ridiculous. At least, coffee was good.

VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTING and overpriced place.
Never again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmgate Restaurant also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Farmgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmgate Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.