We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start but wonderful bar food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Cork
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad start but wonderful bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Location wasn't available on my sat nav and not signposted very well, had to ask in local garage for directions and was clear that this wasn't an unusual thing for them.
Was given faulty key card for the room, there was some glasses from previous room guest outside room which hadn't been (still haven't been) collected and the adjoining room door was unlocked (now locked). Remote control is a pain in the *ss to use.

However, just had dinner in the bar and was very impressed with the Shark steak. Only €14 and was absolutely delicious, would recommend it to anyone staying here.
Also has free wifi which is surprisingly not common in hotels nowadays.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMoy, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork. We are currently updating google maps as there is a little confusion about the location but this will be in order very soon.

Your review has raised some very interesting points in terms of accommodation standards/remote control. This has merited further investigation to ensure the high standards we set are maintained. Our Maintenance team will be addressing this in the comming dates.

I was delighted to hear that you had the Shark Steak, its a really interesting dish and a real favourite with our guests.

Great to hear you made use of the free WiFi offered at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Mark Moynihan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    222
    99
    39
    23
See reviews for
151
174
20
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and the service good. We stayed in a Business class room and it was quite spacious and the room had most of the amenities one would expect. The only slight gripes would be that the picture quality on the TV was a little grainy and the movies were limited to two a day and they were not available on demand but only available at certain times. Also, the picture quality of the movies was grainy. The outsides of the windows were filthy too and looked like they had not been cleaned in a while. The rooms were quite warm so we had to leave the window open to cool the room down.

The gym was well equipped, modern and all the machinery was top quality. The pool area was very nice too.

The breakfast selection was one of the best I have seen. There lots of options too. There was lots of fruit, smoked salmon, yoghurts, pastries etc. It was nice to see a hotel that had put some effort into supplying options other than the ubiquitous cooked breakfast. The cooked buffet breakfast was also well stocked.

Room service food was also of a very high standard.

There is a train station within a 5minute walk of the Hotel which brings one into Cork City and one can also go to Fota and Cobh from the Station too. It is also fairly frequent.

Overall, this hotel is well worth staying at and is a great base to explore Cork from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMoy, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time out to write a review of The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Cork. I was delighted to hear the title of your review, Great Base to explore Cork from'.

Your review has highlighted some real positive, such as the friendly staff, good service and spacious room. Also your comments about our breakfast selection are very much welcomed.

You have also raised very relevant issues such as the picture quality and the cleanliness of windows. We have just scheduled a professional cleaning of all windows in the hotel in the near future so be sure to watch out for them on your next visit. The Television will merit further investigating with our maintenance team.

Great to hear you made use of the close by train station which took you all over Cork by the sounds of it!!

We look forward to welcomming you back to the hotel.
Be sure to call the next time you are looking to come to Cork

Kind Regards,

Mark Moynihan
353 21 4297063
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

The Radisson Little Island was a fabulous choice.

Friendly and efficient check-in which included a full run down of all facilities available. The room was very well appointed with and we even recieved a complimentary fruit basket courtesy of the General Manager. The Leisure Centre was very good with water jets in the pool in several different areas - so plenty room to take in the waves.

Dinner in the Restaurant was very good. The quality of the steaks were very good with large and Edyta and Marius were very friendly and obliging. After dinner we went to the bar for drinks; bar staff could have been a bit friendlier, but on the other hand they were very busy.

Breakfast was excellent. The choice on offer was superb and of excellent quality. The staff were very friendly and even came around to top up our coffee.

My only complaint would be that the Accommdation staff woke us up at 9am coming into our room. They did this again at 11am also. The Accommodation Manager really should be monitoring who is still checked in and out to avoid this happening.

Overall it is a good, friendly hotel with great facilities and we will be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMoy, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel today. Great to hear you enjoyed the fruit sent by our General Manager. It was also interesting to hear that you had a good time in the pool.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Edyta & Marius in the restaurant. They work extremely hard in order to provide excellent customer service and your positive comments will mean alot to both.

In relation to the accommodation staff I do apologise that you were woken up by them. This is not standard proceedure at The Radisson Blu Hotel and this issue has already been raised with our General Manager. Many thanks for reporting this to us. It is constructive criticism that keep the standards at this hotel high.

We look forward to welcomming you back to the hotel soon, watch our for Autumn specials and last minute deals.

Kind Regards,

Mark Moynihan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co cork
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

we stayed lst friday week for ian and jens fish wedding and from start to finish it was superb...colette was in charge of the wedding and she and her team did a truly amazing job, all the staff were just fantastic and the receptionists too....wonderful reception food outstanding, craic was mighty and i would hihly reccommend this hotel for a wedding or short break...the day just flowed without a hitch and the staff were so professional and friendly and efficient....well done hope to return soon for a quieter evening!!!!!! thank you all so much for making it such a happy and memorable day for all barbara holloway wits end crosshaven cork

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

One of the worst hotels I did not stay on after finding rooms were not clean and found that had been smoked in and when arrived the staff were appalling attitude and expected to carry own luggage. I was promised a refund on my money but still waiting as of yet as we refused to stay there, I went eventually to the fota Sheraton which was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights.. Got a beautiful room .. Kids loved the swimming pool .. Restaurant staff were great , especially Pierre.. Breakfast was wonderful .. Loads of food ..

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMoy, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Many thanks for writing a review about your stay at our hotel. Really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will be back again soon. Check out newspapers/websites etc as we are planning to do some amazing family deals in the autumn. I have already passed on your compliments to Pierre. You have made a French man very happy indeed!

Kind Regards,

Mark Moynihan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfdfdfd
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

lovely hotel, friendly breakfast staff and wonderful breakfast! however the hotel will not be getting our repeat business due to the fact that non of the rooms have air conditioning, we stayed for 2 nights with a young baby and it was so uncomfortable, the heat in the corridors, bedroom and bathroom was just unbearable, to be honest I could not wait to leave the room, we did get a fan but when we returned after a day out it was just so hot the fan did not help much. I was looking forward to going home for a good nights sleep. on checkout the girl did not even ask if everthing was okay did we enjoy our stay, so I did mention the problem and she said that they are thinking of it for next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMoy, Sales Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us recently. I was sorry to hear that your stay was not up to standard due to the heat in both the bedroom and corridor. For this we apologise. This is a problem that is currently being investigated and a new ventilation system is planned for 2011.

Many thanks for your compliments in regard to our breakfast and the hard working staff who ensure a good service each morning.

Your comments have been brought to the attention of the General Manager and we would urge you to leave your number to allow us to contact you.

Kind Regards,

Mark Moynihan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Address: Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#7 Spa Hotel in Cork
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#11 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Radisson Blu Hotel is located 15 minutes from Cork City centre. The hotel is ideally situated near Fota Island, Cobh and just 15 minutes from Cork International Airport. The Hotel has 126 bedrooms, a fitness centre, a hydrotherapy swimming pool, retreat spa along with The Island Grillroom Restaurant and Banks Bar. The hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure as we offer a wide variety of services from relaxing spa treatments to complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.