We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cork
GreenLeadersSilver level
Co Clare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I really liked this hotel. I loved the bar. It was comfortable and had a nice atmosphere. The bar staff were very efficient and very pleasant. I was able to watch rugby there which was a bonus.

The bar food was particularly nice. We ate there on both nights and despite getting a wrong order once, the food was very nice indeed. Best bar food I ever had I could safely say.

There was a really good buffet breakfast and while I don't usually, I had a cooked breakfast and it was really good. The big mushrooms particularly were delicious.

This is a nice hotel. The location didn't bother me as I wanted some place quiet. It's not too far from the train station if one wanted to go to Cork or Cobh for a few pints.

Nice, quiet, friendly, appealing and a hotel I am looking forward returning.

I saw one review from someone complaining about the location of this hotel. Why did you stay there so? All the information was on the website.

Free wifi is always an added bonus in any hotel and it worked everywhere I wanted to use it.

Well done all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    264
    119
    45
    30
See reviews for
184
214
26
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I was very pleased with my stay here, I found the staff to be very attentive and knowledgeable and despite the hotel being busy, they handled the pressure well. I was surprised to find PowerPlates in the hotel gym and despite the water being a little chilly at first, I enjoyed the pool with its different 'zones'. I do agree though that the hallways are very hot! Breakfast was incredibly good. Cannot wait for my next stay there! I didn't care that the room overlooked a BMW garage as it was quiet. The location just off the M8 meant that everywhere was within easy reach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed in this hotel with my partner following a previous disappointing vist as we'd been given a complimentary 1 night stay to make up for our previous visit! Stayed 2 nights [one paid for by us, one complimentary]. Receptionist on check in was lovely and efficient. From then on things deteriorated! We went down for bar food on our first night. After a long wait to be served and an even longer wait for my starter , my starter arrived with my partners main course [he wasn't having a starter]. When we requested that both main courses would be served together, the bar manageress had a "hissy fit" stating "I decided to serve his food with your starter as how could you want him to watch you eat when he has nothing" When the bill came, they wanted to charge us for the starter I didn't have! When we requested a refill of the brand of soft drink that I was drinking, we were told the hotel didn't stock it, despite there being a full shelf of it behind the bar! When my partner pointed this out to the bar manager, she dropped the basket of cutlery she was holding on the floor in temper! Very professional! The next night, due to our just wanting something quick to eat, we returned to the bar, a big mistake! After waiting 30 minutes and trying to attract a staff members attention, we left and ended up getting room service. The bar wasn't even full or that busy, which was frustrating. Our other issue was with the cleaning of our room. On our last two visits, we vacated our room at 10am and passed by housekeeping on our way out and drew their attention to the fact that our room was vacant. Both times we didn't return to our room until about 3pm and our room had still not been serviced. When I eventually found housekeeping and requested clean towels, she muttered in her own language, which was very unprofessional! On check-out, the receptionist wasn't that friendly and nor did he ask if our stay was ok. Being honest, from his manner, I knew he didn't care what our opinion of the hotel was.

This is a lovely hotel and while it is situatied a bit out of the city, it is in a great location for touring. Sadly, it is the staff who destroy the reputation of this hotel by their total lack of interest in the customer and their disinterest in providing the service expected in a 4 star hotel. Due to our last two visits being disappointing and frustrating, I really doubt if we'll be back again and we definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blee_ba, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
To whom it may concern,
After reading your review of the Radisson Hotel Little Island I have been forced to request that Trip Advisor.ie remove the comment as I was a witness to the scene you describe. The story you have fabricated is completely untrue in every shape and form.
I feel it is completely insulted and degrading to the staff members you have mentioned in this review as there is very little recourse that is available to them. There has never been an occasion where any of the staff members of this hotel (past or present) who would have acted in the way you have described. You are of course entitled to your opinion of any hotel; however my objection to the vailidity of your opinion is the inaccuracy of your comments which I can testify to be completely and utterly unfounded in every sense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Brilliant staff
Contemporary rooms
Nice bar
Conference Facilities well furnished
Swimming pool and gym adequate
Great base for business travel and sightseeing around Cork
15 minute drive from airport
Near train station to Cork city

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork

Address: Ditchley House, Little Island, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cork
#8 Business Hotel in Cork
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Radisson Blu Hotel is located 15 minutes from Cork City centre. The hotel is ideally situated near Fota Island, Cobh and just 15 minutes from Cork International Airport. The Hotel has 126 bedrooms, a fitness centre, a hydrotherapy swimming pool, retreat spa along with The Island Grillroom Restaurant and Banks Bar. The hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure as we offer a wide variety of services from relaxing spa treatments to complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.