We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice n' cozy. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idaho Cafe

Idaho Cafe
Caroline Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4276376
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 455 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Centre
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice n' cozy. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stumbled in here by accident, a pleasant surprise.

Friendly and speedy service. Food was quite good, the menu is pretty small. Coffee was nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and the best desserts in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you like your desserts......go in here! I really mean this.....the desserts here are always amazing!
Service is also always good. Definitely recommended this place to anyone looking for a coffee or quite bite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some of the nicest staff around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have been here 4 or 5 times in the last couple of years. Yes, it's tiny, but buzzing. Menu is fairly limited, but quality of food is good, I quite like the seafood pie. The biggest asset to Idaho Cafe is the staff - the male owner and the brown haired waitress - what absolutely lovely people! As someone who eats out regularly and having waitressed myself, I can honestly say you would be hard pushed to find staff as cheery and attentive in the whole of Ireland. They have a great attitude and are of the same disposition every time I visit. Even if they served rotten fish, I would still return on the basis of being so enamoured by those two. Great work guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stopped in during a Saturday morning and were lucky enough to get a table for two. The cafe is tiny but has a great atmosphere. I enjoyed a sausage bap and himself had the brioche toast with honey. We had two lovely coffees and the service was fast and friendly. Great to see an independent cafe so busy and love that they highlight the local provenance of their ingredients.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“thank God for unfranchised cafes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

sick of Starbucks? try Idaho, I go there Sat morns for gorgeous coffee and waffle. 10 out of 10 for atmosphere, friendliness, attention to detail, flowers on table, love it

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idaho Cafe also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Idaho Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idaho Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.