We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant - just check your bill...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Padrino Italian Restaurant

Il Padrino Italian Restaurant
20/21 Cook Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021-427-1544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 457 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - just check your bill...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Recently ate here to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant was packed out (always a good sign) and service from the waiting staff was very good. We enjoyed the food, though one of my friends who had the broccoli taglietelli was less impressed. The rest of the dishes were tasty and plates returned empty!

We certainly got a shock when our bill arrived - charged more than double the cost due to the addition of 4 extra mains, 2 extra starters and extra wine to our bill (I know we were hungry but 8 main courses for 4 people?). When we flagged this up, it initially wasn't handled well although once investigated, we did receive an apology and it didn't spoil a nice evening.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    75
    32
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had lunch here, had pizza and meatballs. Both very nice.

They have a Tapas menu which we would have gone for, but it is only available from six in the evening.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

lovely meal in this great find.
Staff were really friendly and food was tasty, although portions were a little small.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great restaurant, the food is awesome and the staff are very friendly. Had a chat with the manager, Peyman who was showing me all the artwork and some of the history of the restaurant. This is on my pick list for cork. Been to most of the Italians and this is the top.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork city
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

It was a Friday night around 730 & everywhere was full with Christmas parties including Il Padrino, despite this they were very accommodating of us and made a table available for myself & my fiancée.

From there the service just got better, our waiter was very nice and helpful. The food was gorgeous - the tiramisu is unreal, highly recommend it.

It was our first time there and we left very impressed and will be back some time soon again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Padrino Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Il Padrino Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Padrino Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.