We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place with a very friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Glencairn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice little place with a very friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I can recommend this bed and breakfast to every traveller who is looking for a cosy and friendly place with a lot of atmosphere. The house is surrounded by a beautiful garden where you can sit, relax and read your book. The garden overlooks the sea which is just on the other side of the road.
All rooms are tastefully furnished and well equipped. It is the best I have ever seen and I have been to many bed and breakfasts in England.
Best of all I liked the landlord and the landlady who are very nice people and give you the feeling you are a member of the family. So go there and stay with Helen and John.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
96
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed with John and Helen for one night on June 12th with 2 adults and 3 children ages 8, 5, & 4. John met me at the door and already had all of our boy's names memorized. He came out the car, greeted my wife and kids, and helped us carry our luggage into the house. The house is very well decorated and extremely cozy. I almost felt like we were visiting our grandparent's home, and they really made us feel extremely welcome. We had two rooms, one for the boys and one for us. After we settled in, John asked us if we would like to sit out back to eat our lunch that we brought with us. The back yard is beautiful and Helen has done an excellent job with gardening and flower arrangements. We sat in the back yard and ate our lunch. John offered us coffee and tea and brought the boys some orange juice and cupcakes. He also brought out some toys for the boys to play with while we were relaxing in the back yard. We slept extremely well and when we got up in the morning John and Helen greeted us in the sunroom where we ate breakfast. They made an excellent traditional Irish Breakfast with ham, sausage, an over easy egg, and white and brown pudding (some type of sausage, the white was extremely good!) Overall, we were very please with our stay there and the boys absolutely loved John and Helen. At breakfast, one of the other guests actually asked if were were related to John and Helen because they were so great with the boys and made us feel like part of their family. Don't be nervous at all about bringing children into their home because they were very welcoming! I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast and we will be sure to return again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

John and Helen are wonderful hosts, the breakfast table discussion was always interesting, the room was lovely, the food excellent. John was always willing to suggest a place to eat or a place to visit, and even offered the use of Helen's bicycle!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Because of a disruption to our travel plans, we ended up with a 24-hour+ day. When we arrived at Glencairn, John met us at the door and invited us to the garden for a cup of coffee and a beer. He then recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. We returned and were able to shower and go right to bed. Excellent night's sleep; wonderfully comfortable bed! Breakfast was well prepared and delicious with plenty of coffee. John has supplied us with directions and suggested tourist options. Very friendly and very helpful. Wonderful option for a good night's sleep while on the road in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed for one night and was given a lovely room and a wonderful breakfast. We were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits in the garden on our arrival. John and Helen were wonderful hosts. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My mother and I stayed with John and Helen for 4 nights. What a wonderful time we had! John and Helen went out of their way to help us track down lost packages! John was very entertaining at breakfast and has a way of making his guests feel at home! We would definitely recommend Glencairn as a special place to stay. John's array of colourful jumpers (sweaters?) are worth the visit on their own! Thanks Helen and John. We hope to see you again one day.

Julie and Eunice from Australia

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Glencairn with our children, it was just perfect for all of us. The rooms were extremely comfortable and attractive and their garden is beautiful. You can see the harbour right from the house, but it’s just 15 mins from Cork city. We were able to drive to the beach in just 30 minutes with our two youngest, while our teenager took the bus into the city. We were also able to take the kids to Fota wildlife park by taking a ferry across the harbour. It couldn’t have been better, we could hardly believe our luck! We’ll definitely stay at Glencairn again the next time we’re in Cork.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn Hotel Cork
Glencairn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.