We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Glencairn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bit of a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The wife and I stayed at Glencairn for 2 evenings this past April and were very pleased with the accommodations. The house itself is just off a rather busy street but situated in such a way that you avoid notice of the traffic once on the site and are able to take in the lovely view of Cork Harbour. We stayed in the downstairs room and found it to be tidy, clean and comfortable. At first we weren't sure if we'd like that the bathroom was across the hall, but it turns out that worked out very well. When we arrived, John and Helen were both very inviting and the next morning we had a fine breakfast in their wonderful sun room.

Driving in Ireland for an outsider is tricky at best and parking is expensive. There is a bus stop not far from here that can take you into the city centre though we decided to drive to the Cork commuter bus lot south of town instead since it was cheaper. The second evening we came back and sat with John and Helen talking like old friends for hours which was truly a pleasure. If exploring County Cork, this place makes as fine a home away from home as you are likely to find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
96
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just after booking online, John Fox asked me what kind of trees were surrounding our property in Texas. As a retired landscape designer and contractor, we were immediately joined "at the hip" Then, when we arrived at their beautiful garden home,, he and Helen gave us a big Texan welcome....smiles and hugs! Their breakfast room is an atrium with 360 degree view of their gardens. We had just completed an 8 day Irish Castle Package tour and it was wonderful to return to a refreshing, user friendly, graciously hosted B & B. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

For the first time in our life (Mario & Petra from Hoorn,The Netherlands) we stayed in Iereland at Glencairn B&B near Rochestown. A beautiful cottage with an amazing garden. We slept there for two nights and John and Helen were our first entrance to this new experience! We discovered how warm and friendly the Irish people are. Something we sure had to get used to, because the Irish people are far different than people in other European countries. Something we experienced many times during our nine days hollyday-trip. We had good breakfasts and also good conversations. John and Helen gave us much information about the surrounding areas and interesting places to visit. The room was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Personally we have to thank John and Helen for their help to give us a lift to Cork while the rain was poring down. That's real Irish hospitality! When we are able to come back we will sure pay a visit for several days to Glencairn B&B. Love you both John and Helen! Greetings from the both of us!

Room Tip: The bed we slept in was high standard and the breakfasts exellent . Something you only will find in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here two night in early October and could not have been happier. John and Helen are delightful hosts. John went out of his way to make us welcome. He helped us navigate the town and find a place to eat, in spite of the fact that we arrived late and hadn't had the chance to pick up our rental car yet. The rooms are cute and cozy and the garden is just perfectly quaint. Breakfast in the sun-room looking out at the garden could not be more lovely. I would highly recommend this place to anyone I knew traveling to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed with John and Helen for 1 night and absolutely loved the experience. They were both very welcoming and had a beautiful home and garden. It was a shame we could only stay for one night. We will definitely reach out to them again the next time we are in Cork.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed 3 nights here. Our first trip to Ireland. How lucky we were to have stayed at John and Helen's B & B. Absolutely beautiful garden and home. Not to mention the traditional Irish breakfast. When we come back to Ireland, we won't stay anywhere else. Our roots are here which was one reason we came to this part of Ireland in the first place. I recommend this B & B very highly to anyone that is interested in the BEST! Gail & Janice

Room Tip: No extra "tips" as they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This incredible B&B gives you a true Irish experience. Imagine the perfect B&B.... This is exactly that. Beautiful house, splendid garden, wonderful view and most of all incredible hospitality. Just far enough from Cork to be out of the hustle bustle but not too far to be off of the beaten path. The owners were very helpful, they went our of their way to make us happy. Recommended attractions, gave directions and made breakfast to order. We only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer. If you are traveling to Ireland this B&B is a must.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn Hotel Cork
Glencairn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.