We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Glencairn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Cork B&B and Inns
Huglfing, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

A very cozy B & B and pleasant hosts. Although the bathroom in our room was very tiny (and not made for tall people!), the fantastic bed more than made up for it. An incredibly comfortable mattress!! Very good breakfast, too. We would return.

Room Tip: From room 4 one can overlook the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
92
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

John and Helen were wonderfully gracious and welcoming. Breakfast was incredible and the home was beautifully situated just outside of Cork. Do take the ferry to Cobh. It is wonderfully packed with history including the emigration point of Irish heading to America, the last stop of the Titanic, and the rescue point of the Lusitania.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This b&b is the perfect place to stay in Cork Ireland. John and Helen are very help for any questions you have. Upon arriving we where greeted with tea and cookies out in the garden. The rooms are a good size with comfy clean beds, free wifi and cable t.v. The b&b is just minutes way from a small town that involves a fairy ride, great places to eat and Titanic museum which you must do! Breakfast is served in an open sun room with fresh fruit, which I love. I would recommend this b&b!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a lovely trip travelling around Ireland for our Honeymoon. We stayed somewhere different every night, and this B&B was such a great relaxing stop. We spent the day in Cork, and came here for the night. The home owners are lovely, and they reccommended a great palce to go eat for supper. The place was cozy and breakfast was yummy. Felt so comfortable in there and it was so nice to meet some new people. Definitely reccommend to stay here!!!!

Room Tip: One room is bigger than the others so just ask :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This quaint attic-style B&B is ideally and picturesquely situated on the outskirts of, but conveniently close enough to, the city of Cork, with the attraction of nearby water views, a car ferry to the historic town of Cobh (being the main port for Irish immigration in the century after 1848 and Titanic’s last port of call) and easy road access to the south-west coast or around the city to Blarney Castle and the magnificent Ring of Kerry. John and Helen, our hosts, ensured that guests enjoyed an ample Irish breakfast and John was extremely helpful in guiding us with his excellent knowledge of the area’s tourism highlights and good value places to eat, and generally ensuring that our stay was as relaxing and comfortable as he could make it. Very tall or stout guests may find one of the en-suites a little cramped and would be advised to mention their stature when booking, but highly recommended!

Room Tip: The en-suite in one attic room is not suitable for tall or stout guests, but others will find it qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This B&B was truly a gem. Loved the gardens, brekafst, the room and the hospitality.
Keep up the good work!
Bob.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed with John & Helen for a few days in Cork. The house was lovely and our hosts made us feel immediately at home. John is very knowledgeable about local tourist spots and gave us lots of good advice. We visited the fascinating old Norman Barry’s Castle on his advice which for some reason our guide book didn’t reference. The room was lovely and spacious with lots of unique woodwork which my husband loved, being into carpentry. John was also kind enough to show him around his workshop. The kids had a great time running around Helen’s beautiful garden playing hide & seek between the flowerbeds. There were plenty of toys for them to play with which gave us a well needed break after a long plane trip.
The bed was extremely comfy with laundered linen sheets & John cooked us up an Irish breakfast and brewed coffee every morning, which kept us going most days well into the afternoon which was perfect for sight seeing. Cork itself is a very interesting city with lots of old period buildings. We particularly enjoyed the English Market which is in a beautiful old Victorian warehouse full of small traders. The kids also loved the Fota Wildlife park which was a short ferry crossing away on the other side of the harbour. The B&B is not in the city centre but is pretty close by car and we found it handy for touring the countryside as we could mostly bypass the local traffic. All in all we had a fabulous time & hopefully will be back again. We would highly recommend Glencairn to anyone looking for a unique experience in a beautiful setting with fantastic service and charming hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn Hotel Cork
Glencairn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencairn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.